Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

A City Dreaming

Daniel Polansky

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense, Fantasy

The incredible new fantasy from Daniel Polansky, for fans of Jim Butcher, Ben Aaronovitch and Lauren Beukes.

Imagine a city within a city, where monsters walk the street and magic fills the night. This is New York, but not as you know it.

This New York is a city of magic and monsters. Where ordinary people live alongside demons and nightmares, completely unaware of them. New York is home to M, a man with a past... and a secret. He knows more about the creatures who call his city home than anyone else in the world. He walks between the two worlds, at home in neither but more than comfortable in both. M is the man the monsters call when things get bad.

And things are about to get really, really bad.

Read More Read Less

Praise for A City Dreaming

  • Those looking for well-createed and beautifully created fantasy, which also happen to be both darkly comic and devastatingly grim, will find themselves swiftly addicted. - Starburst

  • Dark fantasy with a decidedly military bent, THOSE ABOVE is the perfect opener for Daniel Polansky's career beyond Low Town. With his unmistakeable voice and his highly original new world, he draws the reader slowly in until it's impossible to put the book down and escape back to reality. A brilliant start to what is sure to be one of the fantasy epics of all time, THOSE ABOVE is the work of an author at the top of his game and brings with it the promise of a lot more to come. - Reader Dad

  • THOSE ABOVE is I, Claudius by way of Tolkien and filtered through Chandler. That is to say, really damn good. - Pornokitsch

  • From low conflict to high skulduggery, this is Daniel Polansky's most assured and engrossing novel yet. - The Sci Fi Bulletin

  • Gripping... Polansky has pulled off a polished fantasy thriller that's very much in the George RR Martin/Joe Abercrombie vein, but has still given the book its own distinctive style and voice, alongside plenty of evocative world-building. The Empty Throne (series) looks set to be fascinating and provocative. - SFX

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Low Town: The Straight Razor Cure by Daniel Polansky

Right
Left
loading...

Low Town: The Straight Razor Cure by Daniel Polansky

Right

Daniel Polansky

Daniel Polansky was born in Baltimore, Maryland. He currently resides abroad. The Straight Razor Cure is his first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay