Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hodder Children's Books
  • Hodder Children's Books

Jackdaw Summer

David Almond

8 Reviews

Rated 0

For National Curriculum Key Stage 2, For National Curriculum Key Stage 3, For National Curriculum Key Stage 4 & GCSE, Interest age: from c 11 years, Fiction, General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

From the winner of the Whitbread Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal comes an extraordinary novel ...

A long hot summer
A wild boy
An abandoned baby
An act of violence
Every summer Liam and Max roam the wild countryside of Northumberland but this year things are different. One hot summer s day a jackdaw leads the two boys into an ancient farm house where they find a baby, wrapped in a blanket, with a scribbled note pinned to it: PLESE LOOK AFTER HER RITE. THIS IS A CHILDE OF GOD.

And so begins Jackdaw Summer. A summer when friendships are tested. A summer when lines between good and bad are blurred. A summer that Liam will never forget ...

A stunning novel from the author of the modern children's classic Skellig - winner of the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children's Book Award. David Almond is also winner of the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen award.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Jackdaw Summer

  • 'a book of startling quality and tremendous beauty' - The Bookbag

  • '... exceptional, delicate writing ... make a moving and thoughtful story told with exceptional elegance.' - Julia Eccleshare

  • 'exquisite prose which sparkles off the page' - Writeaway

  • BACKLIST REVIEWS: 'Almond manages to make a work of art out of the simplest words.' - Amanda Craig, The Times

  • a master novelist - Independent

  • There really is nobody quite like Almond writing in children's or adults' fiction today. - The Times

  • a writer of subtle, page-turning and daring exactness. - Times Educational Supplement

  • David Almond's novels all have a unique, mystical thread running through them. He weaves a story web, spiderlike, that holds the reader spellbound while he spins new though-threads on universal themes. - Carousel

Read More Read Less

David Almond

David Almond is the author of Skellig, My Name is Mina, Counting Stars, The Savage, Island, A Song for Ella Grey, The Colour of the Sun and many other novels, stories, picture books, opera librettos, songs and plays. His work is translated into 40 languages, and is widely adapted for stage and screen. His major awards include the Carnegie Medal, two Whitbread Awards, the Eleanor Farjeon Award, the Michael L Printz Award (USA), Le Prix Sorcieres (France) and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. In 2010 he won the Hans Christian Andersen Award, the world's most prestigious prize for children's authors.

David speaks at festivals and conferences around the world. He is Emeritus Professor of Creative Writing at Bath Spa University. He is widely regarded as one of the most exciting, inspirational and innovative children's authors writing today. He has one amazing daughter. He lives in Bath and in Newcastle, the city in which he was born.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay