Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Trapeze
  • Trapeze

Things Can Only Get Better

David M. Barnett

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

An uplifting story of friendship and community, from the international bestselling author of CALLING MAJOR TOM

*FROM THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CALLING MAJOR TOM*

For elderly churchwarden Arthur Calderbank, there's no place like home. His home just so happens to be a graveyard.

He keeps himself to himself, gets on with his job, and visits his wife everyday for a chat. When one day he finds someone else has been to see his wife - and has left flowers on her grave - he is determined to solve the mystery of who and why. He receives unlikely help from a group of teenage girls as he tries to solve the mystery, and soon learns that there is more to life than his little graveyard.

Set during the 1990s, THINGS CAN ONLY GET BETTER is an uplifting story about the power of a little kindness, friendship and community for readers who enjoy Sue Townsend Ruth Hogan and Joanna Cannon.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Things Can Only Get Better

  • I loved it. Nostalgic without being saccharine, hopeful, real characters with edge. A brilliant book.

Read More Read Less

David M. Barnett

David Barnett is an author and journalist based in West Yorkshire. After a career working for regional newspapers he embarked upon a freelance career writing features for most of the UK national press. He is the author of the critically-acclaimed Gideon Smith series of Victorian fantasies, published by Tor Books, and teaches journalism part-time at Leeds Trinity University. David was born in Wigan, Lancashire, in 1970 and is married to Claire, also a journalist. They have two children, Charlie and Alice.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay