Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sceptre
  • Sceptre
  • Sceptre
  • Sceptre

Slade House

David Mitchell

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Classic horror & ghost stories, Science fiction, Fantasy

Turn down Slade Alley - narrow, dank and easy to miss, even when you're looking for it. Find the small black iron door set into the right-hand wall. No handle, no keyhole, but at your touch it swings open. Enter the sunlit garden of an old house that doesn't quite make sense; too grand for the shabby neighbourhood, too large for the space it occupies.

A stranger greets you and invites you inside. At first, you won't want to leave. Later, you'll find that you can't.

This unnerving, taut and intricately woven tale by one of our most original and bewitching writers begins in 1979 and comes to its turbulent conclusion around Hallowe'en, 2015. Because every nine years, on the last Saturday of October, a 'guest' is summoned to Slade House. But why has that person been chosen, by whom and for what purpose? The answers lie waiting in the long attic, at the top of the stairs . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for Slade House

  • Fans of The Bone Clocks and Cloud Atlas will recognize the interlocking narrative structure and literary-fantastical bent . . . who doesn't want to just drink up all of Mitchell's writing? - Library Journal

  • All the intelligence and linguistic dazzle of a David Mitchell novel, but this one will also creep the pants off you . . . you won't be able to put this book down.

  • An eerie haunted-house tale . . . a spellbinding chiller about an unnatural greed for life and the arrogance of power.

  • PRAISE FOR THE BONE CLOCKS:-

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

A message to David Mitchell's Australian fans

loading...

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

loading...

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell - FILM TRAILER

loading...

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet

Right
Left
loading...

A message to David Mitchell's Australian fans

loading...

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

loading...

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell - FILM TRAILER

loading...

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet

Right

David Mitchell

Born in 1969, David Mitchell grew up in Worcestershire. After graduating from Kent University, he taught English in Japan, where he wrote his first novel, Ghostwritten. Published in 1999, it was awarded the Mail on Sunday John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award. His second novel, number9dream, was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, and in 2003, David Mitchell was selected as one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists. His third novel, Cloud Atlas, was shortlisted for six awards including the Man Booker Prize, and adapted for film in 2012. It was followed by Black Swan Green, shortlisted for the Costa Novel of the Year Award, and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, which was a No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller. Both were also longlisted for the Booker.