Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Fleet

Sedating Elaine

Dawn Winter

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A brilliant, darkly funny novel from a brilliant new talent, perfect for fans of Otessa Moshfegh, Taffy Brodesser-Akner and Kate Davies

An exuberant black comedy about love, grief, sex, guilt, and one woman's harebrained scheme to tranquilize her voraciously amorous girlfriend for a few days so that she might pay off her drug dealer, make soup, and finally get some peace and quiet.

Frances was not looking for a relationship when she met Elaine in a bar. She was, in fact, looking to drown her sorrows in a pint or twelve and nurse a broken heart, shattered by the gorgeous, electric Adrienne. But somehow (it involved a steady stream of beer and weed, as things often did with Frances) Elaine ended up in Frances's bed and never left.

Now, faced with mounting pressure from her drug dealer, Dom (and his goon, Betty), Frances comes up with a terrible idea: For the rent money, she asks Elaine to move in with her for real. Unfortunately, this seemingly romantic overture makes Elaine even more sex-crazed and maniacal with love. Frances fears she may never escape the relationship, so, given no choice, she makes the obvious decision: She will sedate Elaine.

A story as enthusiastically madcap and funny as it is smart and emotionally surprising, Sedating Elaine introduces a roster of unforgettable characters and an indelible, wildly exciting new voice in fiction.

Read More Read Less

Dawn Winter

Dawn Winter lives in Essex, and studied English literature at the University of Roehampton. She has worked a variety of jobs in prisons, hospices, kitchens, and factories. Sedating Elaine is her first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay