Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Corsair
  • Hachette Audio
  • Corsair

Resources

Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens

9 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

#1 New York Times Bestseller

A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!" Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful." The New York Times Book Review

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Read More Read Less

Resources

Praise for Where the Crawdads Sing

  • A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world - New York Times Book Review

  • An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. - Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

  • Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. - People

  • This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver - Bustle

  • A nature-infused romance with a killer twist - Refinery29

  • Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving - Daily Mail

  • Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. - Entertainment Weekly

  • For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement - The Times

Read More Read Less
Write a Review

Reader reviews (1)

  • I had seen this book on many pages as highly recommended and knew I had to give it a go. I loved every page! I went into this book with absolutely no background or clue what it would entail. Kya was the Marsh Girl, abandoned by everyone who’s loved her. Beaten, abused and bullied by the town who cast her out. Mother fled followed by her siblings and eventually her alcoholic father. She out played the law and social services to live alone in the marsh and fend for herself rom the age of 6. Jumpin and his wife looked out for her and fed and clothed her over the years. Her only friend was Tate who taught her read and gave her life. When he left of collage she met chase, popular quarterback who wanted the Marsh Girl. Like a true pig, he was playing her knowing he’s never take her home to his family. Kya became the marsh expert and a published author with her findings and paintings of the marsh. In a twisted turn of events she becomes a suspect in the death of Chase and the town throw her is jail once again turning their back on her. Lucky for the lonely Marsh Girl the true love always sets you free. This book moved me to tears. A perfect novel and possible my favourite of this year!

    Rebecca Lyons

    Rated 5
Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Book Mum Some Me Time

loading...

Books Everyone’s Been Talking About this Year

loading...

9 Great Reads for Mother’s Day

Right
Left
loading...

Book Mum Some Me Time

loading...

Books Everyone’s Been Talking About this Year

loading...

9 Great Reads for Mother’s Day

Right

Delia Owens

Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa including Cry of the Kalahari.


She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and many others.


She currently lives in Idaho. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay