Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hachette Books

Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House

Donna Brazile

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Political science & theory

In the tradition of SHATTERED, THIS TOWN, and GAME CHANGE, an explosive inside look at the 2016 election from former DNC chair and legendary Democratic operative Donna Brazile, revealing the inside story of the Russian hacking, and the missteps by the Clinton campaign and Obama administration that enabled a Trump victory

In the fallout of the Russian hacking of the Democratic National Committee--and as chaos threatened to consume the party's convention--Democrats turned to a familiar figure to right the ship: Donna Brazile. Known to millions from her frequent TV appearances, she was no stranger to high stakes and dirty opponents, and the longtime Democratic strategist had a reputation in Washington as a one-stop shop for fixing sticky problems.

What Brazile found at the DNC, however, was unlike anything she had experienced before--and much worse than is commonly known. The party was beset by infighting, scandal, and hubris, while reeling from a brazen and wholly unprecedented attempt by a foreign power to influence the presidential election. Plus, its candidate, Hillary Clinton, faced an opponent who broke every rule in the political playbook.

Packed with never-before-reported revelations about what went down in 2016, HACKS is equal parts campaign thriller, memoir, and roadmap for the future. With Democrats now in the wilderness after this historic defeat, HACKS argues that staying silent about what went wrong helps no one. Only by laying bare the missteps, miscalculations, and crimes of 2016, Brazile contends, will Americans be able to salvage their democracy.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Hacks: The Inside Story of the Break-ins and Breakdowns That Put Donald Trump in the White House

  • With bracing honesty, enchanting self-awareness, and a wonderful storyteller's voice, Donna Brazile recounts the fascinating inside story of the 2016 campaign and what it was like being hacked. It is a deeply emotional story, but she tells it with great humor and insight. Her book is filled with urgent history and vital lessons for living in this age of cyber warfare and political discontent. This book is a triumph. - Walter Isaacson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Steve Jobs, The Innovators, and Leonardo da Vinci

  • The former DNC chair's memoir of election defeat has it all... Brazile most certainly has a story to tell.... An easy and vivid read, everything one expects in a first-person campaign narrative--except for its detailed discussion of Russia's hacks, WikiLeaks, and threats to Brazile herself. On that score, the book is down-right alarming. - The Guardian

  • Explosive... Perhaps not since George Stephanopoulos wrote All Too Human, a 1999 memoir of his years working for former president Bill Clinton, has a political strategist penned such a blistering tell-all. - Washington Post

Read More Read Less

Readers also viewed

Left
Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay