Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Two Roads
  • Two Roads
  • Two Roads
  • Two Roads

M for Mammy

Eleanor O Reilly

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Ireland, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Autism & Asperger’s Syndrome

A heartwarming and funny debut of an Irish family, the Augustts, all bound together with love and language and stories. For fans of Roddy Doyle and Marian Keyes.

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

'Heart-breaking, heart-warming, and hilarious: a glorious debut' Ruth Hogan
'Strong and taut' Anne Griffin

Meet the Augustts: a loving, Irish family who, like all families, are a bit complicated.

They are bound together by their love for each other, but each expresses themselves in a very different way. When misfortune strikes the family, they must learn to understand each other anew. Sometimes, in a family as complicated as the Augustts, it's not always what is spoken that makes the most sense.

Everything is shaken up when Granny Mae-Anne moves in and takes charge. A force of nature, full of stern words and no-nonsense common sense, it is she who must try and hold the family together.

M FOR MAMMY is an uplifting story about the unique comfort of home, the language we can find when the words aren't there, and the power of a family to heal itself.

'A heartfelt debut about love, understanding and the complicated ties of family' Prima
'Lovely, sharp, compassionate, well-observed writing' Felicity Hayes-McCoy
'Fresh, thoughtful and original - a charming debut' Irish Times
'Channelling the warm heart and good cheer of Marian Keyes . . . very amusing' Irish Independent
'Exuberant. A brilliant, bubbly new voice' Irish Examiner

'A gloriously funny, bittersweet debut' Ireland of the Welcomes

Read More Read Less

Praise for M for Mammy

  • Strong and taut - Literary Hub

  • M is for Mammy. It's also for Marvellous! What a wonderful story - in turns heart-breaking, heart-warming, and hilarious (which is not an easy combination to pull off). Also, Granny Mae-Anne is a FABULOUS creation . . . Eleanor, it's a glorious debut

  • A heartfelt debut about love, understanding and the complicated ties of family - Prima

  • Channelling the warm heart and good cheer of Marian Keyes, this debut novel from O'Reilly . . . tells the very amusing story of the Augustt family. We meet the son who doesn't speak, the mother who's had a stroke, the granny who talks enough for the lot of them - and the daughter who's decided to write it all down. - Irish Independent

  • Lovely, sharp, compassionate, well-observed writing

  • I really enjoyed this, Eleanor is a lovely writer - Sheila O'Flanagan

  • Rambunctious - Irish Times

  • A cracking good read . . . more characters like the formidable, feisty Granny, please! LOVED HER. - The Book Scoop

Read More Read Less

Eleanor O Reilly

Eleanor O'Reilly is a teacher of English and Classical Studies who has an MA in Creative Writing from Manchester Metropolitan University.

She has been awarded several literary prizes, including the 2015 RTE Francis McManus Radio Short Story Award and the 2013 William Trevor International Short Story Award, and has been shortlisted for several others, including the 2016 Colm Toibin Literary Award.

She lives in Ireland with her husband Brian Kelly, their daughter Ella Kelly, and a whole menagerie of pets. M for Mammy is her debut novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay