Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Piatkus
  • Hachette Audio

Everything is Beautiful: 'the most uplifting book of the year' Good Housekeeping

Eleanor Ray

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

'This book took hold of me and wouldn't let me go until I turned the final page' BETH O'LEARY

'Funny, tender and uplifting' BBC RADIO 4

'Beautifully written and thought-provoking' KATIE FFORDE

'This is one of those books you just want to gulp down in one'
GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

__________________________________________

When Amy Ashton's world fell apart eleven years ago, she started a collection. Just a few keepsakes of happier times: some honeysuckle to remind herself of the boy she loved, a chipped china bird, an old terracotta pot . . . Things that others might throw away, but to Amy, represent a life that could have been.

Now her house is overflowing with the objects she loves - soon there'll be no room for Amy at all. But when a family move in next door, a chance discovery unearths a mystery, and Amy's carefully curated life begins to unravel. If she can find the courage to face her past, might the future she thought she'd lost still be hers for the taking?

Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant and The Keeper of Lost Things, this exquisitely told, uplifting novel shows us that however hopeless things might feel, beauty can be found in the most unexpected of places
__________________________________________

Everyone is talking about Eleanor Ray:

'Like the objects Amy collects, this novel is a treasure all of its own' Woman

'A joy to read, and very beautiful indeed' Lisa Dickenson, author of The Twelve Dates of Christmas

'A total treat of a read - warm, enchanting and intriguing, with an unforgettable protagonist at its heart' Holly Miller, author of The Sight of You

'There's an intriguing mystery at the heart of this emotional but uplifting debut novel' Sunday Express

'Beautifully written and full of compassion, kindness and hope' Irish Independent

'A gorgeous, warm hug of a novel' Sinead Moriarty

'A tonic for the soul' Lesley Kara, author of The Rumour

'Charming and thrilling, romantic and gripping' Claire Kendal, author of The Book of You
'Eleanor Ray has perfectly captured how it feels to not quite fit in' M W Craven, author of The Puppet Show

'Amy's vulnerability and loneliness reminded me of one of my all time favourite characters - Eleanor Oliphant. A wonderful celebration of the power of kindness' Hannah Tovey, author of The Education of Ivy Edwards

'Heart-warming and thought-provoking, a mystery with a difference. It's beautifully constructed around the everyday items its central character hoards

Read More Read Less

Praise for Everything is Beautiful: 'the most uplifting book of the year' Good Housekeeping

  • This book quietly took hold of me and wouldn't let me go until I turned the final page. I loved stepping into Amy's world, with all its treasures, and it was a joy to see her beginning to make space for herself.

  • I loved this charming, endearing novel...it will melt even the hardest of hearts...If ever there was a time for a book like EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL to lift us above the every day doom and gloom, it is now.

  • 'EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is a stunning book - intricate, beautifully written and thought-provoking. Packed with psychological realism, Eleanor Ray has perfectly captured how it feels to not quite fit in, to live with emotional baggage, to not know how to let go of the past. It's heart-breaking in parts but ultimately delivers one of the most poignant and heart-warming stories in recent years. Absolutely brilliant and a must-read.'

  • An absolute delight.

  • My book of the year! An absolute must read. EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is everything you'll want in a book. I was pulled into this story from the very first page and didn't want it to end.

  • I loved every bit of it. I think the term in book reviewer lingo is 'utterly captivated' - and I was, as it was not only so beautifully written but the story was so good, too.

Read More Read Less

Eleanor Ray

Eleanor Ray has an MA in English Literature from Edinburgh University and works in marketing. She lives in London with her husband and two young children.

Eleanor was inspired to write Everything is Beautiful by the objects her toddler collects and treasures - twigs, empty water bottles and wilting daisies. She is currently working on her next novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay