Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N
  • W&N

The Necessary Marriage

Elisa Lodato

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

An exquisitely crafted portrait of marriage with a dark twist, perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell, Louise Doughty and Anne Tyler and Liane Moriarty.

The new novel from the author of AN UNREMARKABLE BODY, shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award 2018.

'Elegant, subtle and tender, with a sharp sting in the tale' Sunday Mirror
'A captivating novel which gets to the core of lust, love and commitment' Irish Times
'Gripping and atmospheric, this book will knock you sideways' Fiona Mitchell, author of THE MAID'S ROOM

Sixteen-year-old Jane has a crush on her history teacher. He's everything she has ever wanted - handsome, bookish, kind - and before long they break the rules and fall in love. It is only once married and tied down with two children in 1980s suburbia that Jane realises what she might have given up.

When Marion and Andrew, a couple whose passion tips into violence, move in next door, Jane is forced to confront feelings she didn't know she could have. As desire and loyalty are blurred, it becomes clear nobody can escape the devastating impact of a family falling apart.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Necessary Marriage

  • Elegant, subtle and tender, with a sharp sting in the tale - SUNDAY MIRROR

  • Surrey Gothic: a superbly written suburban saga with an agreeable sense of creeping dread - DAILY MAIL

  • A captivating novel which gets to the core of lust, love and commitment

  • - IRISH TIMES

  • Gripping and atmospheric, this book will knock you sideways

  • Beautifully written and with emotional intelligence pulsing through its veins, this portrait of marriage is a gripping read right up to its shocking end

Read More Read Less

Elisa Lodato

Elisa Lodato grew up in London and read English at Pembroke College, Cambridge. After graduating she went to live in Japan where she spent a year teaching, travelling and learning to speak the language. On returning to the UK she spent many happy years working for Google before training to become an English teacher. Helping pupils to search for meaning in a text inspired Elisa to take up the pen and write her own. Her first novel, AN UNREMARKABLE BODY, was shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award and longlisted for the Bath Novel Award. Elisa lives in Gloucestershire with her husband and two children.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay