Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline
  • Headline

North of Boston

Elisabeth Elo

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery

A powerful, page-turning thriller set in terrifying yet beautiful terrain, featuring a remarkable heroine. For fans of Dennis Lehane, Peter Hoeg's Miss Smilla's Feeling for Snow and readers who love stories with a dark, gripping mystery at their heart.

Year's Best Crime Novels: 2014, Booklist

Dennis Lehane meets Smilla's Sense of Snow: a big discovery in the world of female suspense, about an edgy young woman with the rare ability to withstand extreme conditions

Elisabeth Elo's debut novel introduces Pirio Kasparov, a Boston-bred tough-talking girl with an acerbic wit and a moral compass that points due north.

Pirio Kasparov finds herself abandoned in the North Atlantic when the fishing boat she's on is rammed by a freighter. She somehow survives for nearly four hours in the freezing water before being rescued, but Pirio's friend, Ned, is not so lucky. He disappears without a trace. Pirio can't shake the suspicion that the boat's sinking was no accident, and begins to unravel a lethal plot that takes her to Northern Canada and the ice-cold waters of Baffin Bay. To survive, she must overcome a deadly betrayal from someone in her past, and, most importantly, learn to trust her own instincts above all else.

Elisabeth Elo's mesmerising novel follows a dark and treacherous quest that brings to light some horrifying truths.

Read More Read Less

Praise for North of Boston

  • 'This intense, slow-burning literary thriller, Elo's debut, paints a subtle portrait of a strong and believable heroine ... On this evidence Elo, a creative writing teacher in Boston, could well become a major force in the thriller world' - Daily Mail

  • 'Loyal and tenacious Pirio is a marvellous protagonist. I can't wait to read more about her' - Sun

  • An utterly riveting debut thriller! Pirio Kasparov is one of the best protagonists I've read in years, tough, cynical, wry and compelling. Her determination to discover the truth behind her friend's murder will earn your admiration, while her growing desire to be a better daughter, friend, and person will win your heart

  • North of Boston is a gripping and unorthodox thriller, packed with intriguing characters and unexpected twists

  • I wish I had a friend like Pirio Kasparov - intelligent, loyal, brave, and funny. From the opening pages of North of Boston I was enthralled and deeply committed to following Pirio wherever her brilliant author decided to send her next. What a terrific novel - Margot Livesey

  • Pirio Kasparov, the no-nonsense star of Elisabeth Elo's debut novel, North of Boston, is a multifaceted character. Like its protagonist, North of Boston is many things - a murder mystery, an environmental thriller, and a domestic drama - Boston Globe

  • Will have strong appeal for Scandinavian crime fans. An impressive debut with surprising literary depth - Booklist

  • North of Boston grapples with and melds seemingly disparate subject matter (commercial fishing, perfume, alcoholism, issues of class, environmental consciousness, self-determination) in an original and entertaining way . . . Judging from North of Boston, Pirio's next puzzle promises to be nothing short of unpredictable and exciting - Kirkus

Read More Read Less

Elisabeth Elo

Elisabeth Elo's essays and stories have appeared in The Gettysburg Review and Alaska Quarterly Review and her fiction has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. She teaches writing at Boston College, and lives with her family in Massachusetts.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay