Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Little, Brown US

Hokuloa Road: A Novel

Elizabeth Hand

Write Review

Rated 0

Thriller / suspense

A young man is drawn into the dark side of paradise in this haunting and "perfectly crafted" mystery (Grady Hendrix), about the eerie secrets of one Hawai'ian island-and the lengths some will go to keep them.

On a whim, Grady Kendall applies to work as a live-in caretaker for a luxury property in Hawai?i, as far from his small-town Maine life as he can imagine. Within days he's flying out to an estate on remote Hokuloa Road, where he quickly uncovers a dark side to the island's idyllic reputation: it has long been a place where people vanish without a trace.

When a young woman from his flight becomes the next to disappear, Grady is determined-and soon desperate-to figure out what's happened to Jessie, and to all those staring out of the island's "missing" posters. But working with Raina, Jessie's fiercely protective best friend, to uncover the truth is anything but easy, and with an inexplicable and sinister presence stalking his every step, Grady can only hope he'll find the answer before it's too late.

Perfect for fans of Peter Heller and The White Lotus, and from award-winning writer Elizabeth Hand, a master of crime fiction known for her magnetic characters, seductive prose, and fearless excavations into the darkest corners of our world, comes a chilling and illuminating new novel about a place unlike any other-and the deadly cost of keeping it so.

"Set in a Hawaii so vividly imagined I'm still shaking sand out of my shoes."-Grady Hendrix, New York Times bestselling author of The Final Girl Support Group "Twisty and dark . . . easily one of the best thrillers I've read." -Rachel Hawkins, New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs

"This is the perfect book for your summer beach bag-an evocative mystery set in a tropical island paradise." -Jason Rekulak, author of Hidden Pictures

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay