Your cart


Total AUD



  • Sphere

The Second Cadfael Omnibus: Saint Peter's Fair, The Leper of Saint Giles, The Virgin in the Ice

Ellis Peters

2 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery

Three masterly mysteries featuring the mediaeval sleuth and herbalist, Brother Cadfael, set in Shrewsbury.

This volume contains three of Brother Cadfael's Chronicles:

ST PETER'S FAIR. An unseemly quarrel between the local burghers and the monks from the Benedictine monastery in Shrewsbury over who shall benefit from the levies on Shrewsbury's annual Fair leaves a merchant dead, and Cadfael is summoned from the peace of his herb garden to practice his skills as a detective.

THE LEPER OF ST GILES. Outside the walls of Shrewsbury is St Giles, a sanctuary for the sick, but also a possible refuge for a wanted man. When a member of a wedding party is savagely murdered, Brother Cadfael finds himself at St Giles as herbalist and as detective in search of the killer.

THE VIRGIN IN THE ICE. In the winter of 1139 civil war brings refugees to Shrewsbury in search of sanctuary. But two orphans and their companion, a nun, don't arrive from Worcester, and Cadfael is despatched from the Abbey to try and locate them in the harsh winter landscape of frost and snow.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Second Cadfael Omnibus: Saint Peter's Fair, The Leper of Saint Giles, The Virgin in the Ice

  • A more attractive and prepossessing detective would be hard to find. - SUNDAY TIMES

  • If this is a first-time read then it will be sheer bad luck if the reader foes not fall for Cadfael. - THE TIMES

Read More Read Less

Ellis Peters

Ellis Peters (1913-1995) was the pseudonym of Edith Pargeter. She was a renowned writer of detective novels and was awarded the Cartier Diamond Dagger for a lifetime's achievement in the genre.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay