Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • MacLehose Press
  • MacLehose Press

Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3)

Elmer Mendoza

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Mexico, Crime & mystery, Fiction in translation, Drugs trade / drug trafficking

A third outing for Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta sees him team up with the head of the Pacific Cartel and confront a killer delivering death to every dentist in the region

Perfect for fans of Mick Herron and John Le Carre

"The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years" Gaby Wood, Sunday Telegraph.

It's Christmas in Culiacan and Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta can't believe his luck. An old flame has returned with a teenage son he knew nothing about. Happiness seems to finally beckon for our careworn hero. The only snag is that Jason Mendieta wants to follow in his father's footsteps-even as Mexico's drug war descends a slippery slope toward chaos.

While Lefty pursues a lunatic who has taken to bumping off dentists with a heavy-calibre pistol, a secret agent infiltrates a meeting of the drug lords and hears Pacific Cartel boss Samantha Valdes implore her underlings to stay out of the war. But an audacious murder provokes Samantha to change her mind and launch a wave of grisly killings across the country.

Samantha then persuades Lefty to help her find the killer that pushed her over the edge. The truth he discovers will underline an old adage: revenge is a dish best served cold. No quiet family Christmas for our detective.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3)

  • One of the biggest names in Mexican literature . . . A true novelist . . . No one has captured the exciting and passionate nature of the Mexican vernacular like him.

  • The literary representative of modern-day Mexico in its narco-incarnation . . . The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years. - Sunday Telegraph.

  • A vivid glimpse into an ultraviolent world of macho posturing, unorthodox policing and ruthless criminality. - Guardian.

  • If you are fed up with formulaic noir novels and looking for something fresher, Elmer Mendoza . . . could be the answer. - Sunday Times.

  • Essential reading. - Sunday Express.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay