Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • MacLehose Press
  • Maclehose Press

Kiss the Detective: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 4)

Elmer Mendoza

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Mexico, Crime & mystery

An intelligent, atmospheric police procedural series for fans of John Le Carre and Mick Heron

"The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years" Gaby Wood, Sunday Telegraph.

Detective Lefty Mendieta makes a deal with the devil in a gripping new novel from the Godfather of Narco Lit

Short of leads on the execution-style murder of a fortune-teller, Detective Lefty Mendieta turns to his contacts in the drug underworld. They oblige, but there is a quid pro quo: Help Samantha Valdes, head of the Pacific Cartel, slip through the net of Mexican army and federal police encircling the hospital where she is recovering after an attempt on her life. Grudgingly he agrees, but then gets caught on camera during the escape and becomes headline news.

Fired from the force and on the run from the Feds, Lefty again seeks Samantha's help when he learns that his son Jason has been kidnapped in Los Angeles. There, he must come to terms with the woman who broke his heart, while contending with a thicket of conspiracies, feints and double-crosses that further blur the distinction between crime and the law. Betrayal is certain. To save his son, who will Lefty sell out?

Translated from the Spanish by Mark Fried

Read More Read Less

Praise for Kiss the Detective: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 4)

  • One of the biggest names in Mexican literature . . . A true novelist . . . No-one has captured the exciting and passionate nature of the Mexican vernacular like him.

  • If you are fed up with formulaic noir novels and looking for something fresher, Elmer Mendoza . . . could be the answer. - Sunday Times.

  • The literary representative of modern-day Mexico in its narco-incarnation . . . The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years. - Sunday Telegraph.

Read More Read Less

Elmer Mendoza

Elmer Mendoza was born in Culiacan, Mexico in 1949. He is a professor and author, widely regarded as the founder of 'narco-lit', which explores drug trafficking and corruption in Latin America. He won the Jose Fuentes Mares National Literary Prize for Janis Joplin's Lover, and the Tusquets Prize for Silver Bullets.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay