Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus

What She Left Behind

Emily Freud

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Thriller / suspense

A suspenseful psychological thriller with a shocking twist, perfect for fans of Lia Middleton, BA Paris and Alex Michaelides.

He gave her everything. But can she trust him?

'Tense, creepy and utterly chilling' Charlotte Duckworth

'I devoured it in a single sitting' Charlotte Philby 'Sly, tense and heartbreaking' L V Matthews

'Unputdownable' Harriet Walker

Lauren can't wait to leave London for a fresh start in the countryside with her new partner Paul and his two young children.

She never thought she'd be so lucky. A dream glass house in the woods, a ready-made family, a second chance. But as dark rumours swirl about their new home, Lauren begins to question their happily-ever-after. When they met, she was at her most vulnerable. She would trust Paul with her life. But should she?
READERS LOVE WHAT SHE LEFT BEHIND
'Gripping, tense and chilling' 5* reader review

'Heart-pounding' 5* reader review

'Couldn't put it down' 5* reader review

'A really brilliant thriller' 5* reader review

'Oh my god, this book blew me away!' 5* reader review

Read More Read Less

Praise for What She Left Behind

  • What She Left Behind is a masterpiece in the suspense thriller genre. Sly, tense, and heartbreaking in equal measure. I absolutely loved it - L V Matthews

  • I raced through this compelling novel in just two days. Tense, creepy and utterly chilling. What She Left Behind is easily the best thriller I've read this year. It's a proper page turner. So creepy and clever - Charlotte Duckworth

  • Set against the backdrop of a 'normal' life, this story simmers with foreboding and menace. The build-up to the ending is perfectly paced and executed. A highly recommended read for lovers of dark domestic noir thrillers. 5 stars from me - J. A. Corrigan

  • Dark and menacing, What She Left Behind is a pacy, accomplished thriller that kept me reading on as the tension built with every page, until I had devoured it in a single sitting - never guessing the final twist - Charlotte Philby

  • What She Left Behind is the perfect domestic thriller, truly gripping and shimmering with a dark undertone. My heart was in my mouth as I raced to the end. Mind-blowing and utterly compelling - Vikki Patis

  • A claustrophobic and very clever domestic noir thriller with a great sense of setting, believable characters and an excellent twist - I raced through this - Catherine Cooper

  • What a clever, involving and suspenseful novel about how vulnerability and self-doubt can be exploited so deeply. Emily Freud has written scenes which gave me goosebumps . . . Not to be missed - Jane Lythell

  • A deliciously dark and claustrophobic page-turner with a heartbreaking twist - Sophie Flynn

Read More Read Less

Emily Freud

Emily Freud has worked on Emmy and BAFTA award winning television series including Educating Yorkshire and First Dates. Her debut novel My Best Friend's Secret publishes in 2021. Emily lives in North London, with her husband and two small children. She is currently working on her next novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay