Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Hachette Audio
  • Sphere

The Shipbuilder's Daughter: A beautifully written, satisfying and touching saga novel

Emma Fraser

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Sagas

Set in 1920s Scotland, this powerful and heartwarming saga follows the fate of a shipyard owner's daughter as she is faced with an impossible decision . . . Perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson, Annie Murray and Ellie Dean

Glasgow, 1928. Margaret Bannatyne lost both of her brothers in the Great War and is now the last remaining child of wealthy and powerful shipyard owner William Bannatyne. Without a male heir to carry on the family business, William expects his daughter to do her duty, marry well and provide him with a grandson to inherit his business.

Margaret cares deeply for her father but she has ambitions of her own: after witnessing a horrific accident when she was sixteen, she's determined to become a doctor. Her father, convinced she will never practise medicine, permits Margaret to complete her training. But he doesn't count on her falling in love with Alasdair Morrison.

Alasdair, a union man at the shipyard, has been a thorn in William's side for years, and he didn't become one of the richest men in Glasgow only for Alasdair to take it all away - even if it means destroying his only daughter's happiness by forcing her to make a heartbreaking and impossible choice . . .

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Shipbuilder's Daughter: A beautifully written, satisfying and touching saga novel

  • A powerful and at times gritty tale of love and loss . . . a great, insightful read - Novelicious on WE SHALL REMEMBER

  • Fans of Lily Baxter and other saga authors will enjoy - The Bookseller on WE SHALL REMEMBER

  • This is first rate - Lovereading on WE SHALL REMEMBER

  • A touching, thought-provoking saga - Lancaster Guardian on WE SHALL REMEMBER

Read More Read Less

Emma Fraser

Emma Fraser emigrated to Africa with her Gaelic-speaking parents when she was nine years old and remembers lying in bed and listening to her father playing the bagpipes. She returned to the Western Isles of Scotland years later and went on to qualify as a nurse, working in Edinburgh and Glasgow before leaving to study English Literature at Aberdeen University.

Emma began writing when her daughters started school and she has published three historical novels, two of which were shortlisted for the Romantic Novel of the Year Award. Her third book, The Shipbuilder's Daughter, was inspired by, as always, true events - this time by the Glasgow shipyards where her grandfather once worked.

Keep up to date with Emma by following her on Twitter (@EmmaFraserBooks) or becoming her friend on Facebook (www.facebook.com/emmafraserauthor).

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay