Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Dark: The unputdownable and pulse-raising Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month

Emma Haughton

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Thriller / suspense

An electrifying debut thriller for fans of The Sanatorium, Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware

ONE DEAD BODY. TWELVE SUSPECTS. TWENTY-FOUR-HOUR DARKNESS.

'Outstanding ... Haughton writes vividly about a claustrophobic community ... her novel really is a superlative locked-room mystery' Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month)

'Haughton has created a fantastically atmospheric setting ... it's a chilling race to the finish to discover whodunnit' Observer

In the most inhospitable environment - cut off from the rest of the world - there's a killer on the loose.

A&E doctor Kate North has been knocked out of her orbit by a personal tragedy. So when she's offered the opportunity to be an emergency replacement at the UN research station in Antarctica, she jumps at the chance. The previous doctor, Jean-Luc, died in a tragic accident while out on the ice.

The move seems an ideal solution for Kate: no one knows about her past; no one is checking up on her. But as total darkness descends for the winter, she begins to suspect that Jean-Luc's death wasn't accidental at all.

And the more questions she asks, the more dangerous it becomes . . .

'A sense of growing menace pervades ... the freezing wasteland and claustrophobic workings of the research station are finely rendered' Financial Times
'The kind of heart-pounding, sleep-stealing read that you want to recommend to everyone you meet. An absolutely thrilling book' CASS GREEN
'Chilling and atmospheric . . . had me turning the pages late into the night' MARK EDWARDS
'Tense, thrilling and unpredictable, with one of the most unique and dangerous settings imaginable' ALLIE REYNOLDS
'Set against the dangerous sub-zero temperatures end endless night of the Antarctic... Brilliantly atmospheric and terrifying' CATHERINE COOPER
'Tense, twisted and quite literally chilling - a locked room mystery in a unique setting where no one can be trusted' SUSI HOLLIDAY
'Atmospheric, original and full of tension' AMANDA JENNINGS
'A real edge-of-the-seat plot. I loved it. Original and accomplished' J.A. CORRIGAN

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Dark: The unputdownable and pulse-raising Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month

  • THE DARK is the kind of heart-pounding, sleep-stealing read that you want to recommend to everyone you meet. An absolutely thrilling book - Cass Green

  • Chilling and atmospheric, THE DARK had me turning the pages late into the night - Mark Edwards

  • Tense, thrilling and unpredictable, with one of the most unique and dangerous settings imaginable, THE DARK is a totally chilling read - Allie Reynolds, author of SHIVER

  • A real edge-of-the-seat plot. I loved it - J.A. Corrigan

  • Tense, twisted and quite literally chilling - a locked room mystery in a unique setting where no one can be trusted - Susi Holliday

  • Atmospheric, original and full of tension - Amanda Jennings

  • Set against the dangerous sub-zero temperatures end endless night of the Antarctic, there's a killer on the base who could be anyone. Brilliantly atmospheric and terrifying - Catherine Cooper, author of Sunday Times bestseller THE CHALET

  • Anyone who loves a genuine page-turner with hugely believable characters at its core will adore it - On Magazine

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay