Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • John Murray
  • JM Originals
  • JM Originals

Elmet: SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

Fiona Mozley

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Yorkshire, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of THE LONEY and THE ESSEX SERPENT.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

'Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable' - The Economist

'Pastoral idyll, political expose, cosy family saga and horror tale, it reads like a traditional children's story that turns into a gangster film: Hansel and Gretel meets The Godfather' - Sunday Times

Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now. Sometimes Daddy disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.

Atmospheric and unsettling, ELMET is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it, as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Elmet: SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017

  • A brooding study of family and belonging - Daily Telegraph

  • A fantastic, taught, very strange novel - BBC Radio 4, Front Row

  • Readers across Yorkshire will be hoping Ms Mozley's ascent to literary stardom continues - Yorkshire Post

  • Atmospheric and unsettling - Press

  • A stunning debut . . . It may be the best thing about the Booker too despite its oddness, or perhaps because of it . . . it quickly turns into an utterly arresting novel about family, home, rural exploitation, violence and, most of all, the loyalty and love of children under siege . . . Elmet is in so many ways a wonder to behold. It is also this year's David among the predictable Goliaths on the Booker list. How thrilling if David were to win against them - Evening Standard

  • Fiona Mozley is a rising star of British fiction . . . far from being bleak, Elmet is beautiful. Ms Mozley writes with clarity and insight, and her descriptions of the natural world and human relationships are both specific and profound . . . With very few missteps, this accomplished novel builds to a devastating conclusion. Like another great work about a family on the margins, Housekeeping, the 1980 debut by Marilynne Robinson, an American novelist and essayist, Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable. It is hard not to feel that at 29, Ms Mozley has only just begun - The Econo

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay