Your cart


Total AUD



  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Innocence: two novellas

Frank White

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Second World War fiction, Historical fiction

Two wonderfully evocative short novels from the author of There Was A Time - surely the last novel about the Second World War to have been written by someone who served in it.

Innocence is paired here with a complementary story, A Morse Code Set, first published in 1964 and available recently only as an eBook.

In A Morse Code Set, set in Manchester in 1939, a boy finds his world turned upside down by the outbreak of war. When his own father is called up by the Army and Freddy accepts an offer from the father of one of his friends to repair his beloved morse code set, the youngster sets in motion a potentially tragic turn of events.

In Innocence, young Tony grapples with the consequences of his father leaving his family, and a growing awareness of his own sexuality. The narrative brilliantly conjures a place and time - a Yorkshire village in the 1960s - and is yet quite universal, a story of family, community and heartbreak, of growing up and growing away.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Innocence: two novellas

  • A wonderful read - Telegraph

Read More Read Less

Frank White

Frank White was born in August 1927. He was brought up in Newton Heath, Manchester. He served in the Royal Navy in the Second World War. He had two novels published in the 1960s (including A Morse Code Set, published in this volume) and wrote plays for stage and radio, as well as a short book on the First World War. More than fifty years after his first book was published, he wrote There Was A Time, published to critical acclaim in 2017. Frank lived at Marshchapel, Lincolnshire, with his wife June. Frank died in December 2019.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay