Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Basic Books

Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

Frank Wu

Write Review

Rated 0

Prose: non-fiction, History

Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "colour line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience. Mixing personal anecdotes, legal cases, and journalistic reporting, Wu confronts damaging Asian-American stereotypes such as "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner." By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work dares us to make good on our great democratic experiment.

Read More Read Less

Readers also viewed

Left
Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay