Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Empathy Problem: It's never too late to change your life

Gavin Extence

9 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Perfect for fans of Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and Gavin Extence's debut novel THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS, comes a wild and witty, searing and true novel about life's ups and downs.

Driven by money, power and success, Gabriel has worked ruthlessly to get to the very top of the banking game. He's not going to let the inconvenience of a terminal brain tumour get in his way.
But the tumour has other ideas. As it grows, it appears to be doing strange things to Gabriel's personality. Whether he likes it or not, he seems to be becoming less selfish, less mercenary, less unlikeable.

Once he could dismiss the rest of humanity as irrelevant. Now he's not so sure. Women, in particular, are becoming worryingly three-dimensional. And none more so than Caitlin, the 'unremarkable' girl he sees busking on the steps of St Paul's Cathedral. When she plays her violin, Gabriel could almost believe that he has a soul...

But as each day that passes brings him closer to his last, has time run out for second chances?

Bestselling author Gavin Extence pushes the envelope again with another thought-provoking and funny novel about the surprises, good and bad, that life can throw at us.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Empathy Problem: It's never too late to change your life

  • Praise for Gavin Extence's previous novels:

  • '[Extence] captures how the illness feels from the inside with sensitivity and sparkling humour. In Abby he has created a warm, funny and relatable heroine' - Daily Express

  • The quality of [Extence's] writing is high and often hilarious - Irish Daily Mail

  • 'Insightful and sensitive, Extence describes with the lightest of touches what it's like to live with bipolar' - Sunday Express

  • 'Extence really brings Abby to life in this honest, uequivocal narrative...There is something curiously cathartic about this book, as well as having the bravery, touching honesty and memorable protagonist that Extence is making his trademark' - Heat

  • 'Author Gavin Extence's funny and dark second novel is your commute's saviour' - Stylist

  • 'A book of substance. The characters will stay with you'

  • Praise for Gavin Extence's previous novels - -

  • 'If we do a better book in our book club this year we'll have done very well. I'm a huge fan of this book... I love it'

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Gavin Extence on Kurt Vonnegut

loading...

Gavin Extence on characters in THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS

loading...

Gavin Extence on THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS

Right
Left
loading...

Gavin Extence on Kurt Vonnegut

loading...

Gavin Extence on characters in THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS

loading...

Gavin Extence on THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS

Right

Gavin Extence

Gavin Extence lives in Sheffield with his wife and children. He has written two previous novels, the Richard and Judy bestseller, THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS and THE MIRROR WORLD OF MELODY BLACK, which was described as 'a cross between Bridget Jones' Diary and One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest' by a Simon Mayo Book Club reviewer.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay