Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

Gill Thompson

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Second World War fiction

Inspired by the extraordinary true events of the Kindertransport, which rescued Jewish children from Nazi Germany, a heartrending novel about two mothers and the little girl whose life they save.

Inspired by the real-life escape of thousands of Jewish children from Nazi-occupied Europe on the Kindertransport trains to London, the new novel from the author of The Oceans Between Us Gill Thompson. For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz Heather Morris, The Choice Edith Eger and Lilac Girls Martha Hall Kelly.

Prague 1939. Young mother Eva has a secret from her past. When the Nazis invade, Eva knows the only way to keep her daughter Miriam safe is to send her away - even if it means never seeing her again. But when Eva is taken to a concentration camp, her secret is at risk of being exposed.

In London, Pamela volunteers to help find places for the Jewish children arrived from Europe. Befriending one unclaimed little girl, Pamela brings her home. It is only when her young son enlists in the RAF that Pamela realises how easily her own world could come crashing down.

Praise for Gill Thompson's The Oceans Between Us

'A warm-hearted tale of love, loss and indefatigable human spirit' Kathryn Hughes

'A heartrending story' Jane Corry

'Gill Thompson has brought us a a beautiful tale of a mother's love whilst also tackling a very dark and awful period in British and Australian history. A wonderful book. Full of emotion, heart, joy and sorrow' Emma's Bookish Corner

'I flew through this emotional book with a lump in my heart and watery eyes' Between My Lines

'A heart-wrenching debut novel. A story based on actual events which will have you glued to the pages. I was unable to put the book down. Outstanding' Waggy Tales blog

'A story that will touch every reader's heart' By The Letter Book Reviews

Read More Read Less

Gill Thompson

Gill Thompson is an English lecturer who completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University. Her debut novel, THE OCEANS BETWEEN US, was a No. 1 digital bestseller and has been highly acclaimed. She lives with her family in West Sussex and teaches English to college students.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay