Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

The Operator: Gossip, secrets and lies in a small 1950s town in this deliciously warm-hearted read

Gretchen Berg

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A delightful, uplifting and moving novel about a 1950s switchboard operator who learns a shocking secret about her marriage when she eavesdrops on a phone conversation. Perfect for fans of ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE and THE HELP.

An irresistible, moving and uplifting novel about Viviane, a switchboard operator in a 1950s American town, who learns a shocking secret while eavesdropping on a phone call.

'Just finished THE OPERATOR in an unstoppable rush and it was every bit as glorious, gossipy, delicious and perfect as I'd hoped. Absolutely heaven!' Jill Mansell

It's 1952. The switchboard operators in Wooster, Ohio, love nothing more than to eavesdrop on their neighbours' conversations, and gossip about what they learn. Vivian Dalton is no different (despite her teenage daughter's disapproval), and always longs to hear something scandalous. But on the night of December 15th, she wishes she hadn't. The secret that's shared by a stranger on the line threatens to rip the rug of Vivian's life from under her.

Vivian may be mortified, but she's not going to take this lying down. She wants the truth, no matter how painful it may be. But one secret tends to lead to another . . .

This moving, heart-felt and ultimately uplifting novel brilliantly weaves together an irresistible portrayal of a town buzzing with scandal, and an unforgettable story of marriage, motherhood and the unbreakable ties of family.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay