Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit
  • Orbit

For the Wolf

Hannah Whitten

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

For fans of Spinning Silver and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy about a young woman who, to save her kingdom, must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood. But not all legends are true and the Wolf isn't the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose - to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood - and her world - whole.

'Dazzling . . . This is sure to enchant' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

'A stunning debut' Erin Craig, author of House of Salt and Sorrow

'A must read' Emily A. Duncan, author of Wicked Saints

Read More Read Less

Praise for For the Wolf

  • Blisteringly romantic and utterly transportive, For the Wolf is the kind of story you want to sink into and for all its danger and thorns the Wilderwood is a place you'll never want to leave. A must read

  • Drenched in atmosphere, with sharp and biting prose, Whitten's For the Wolf is a glorious journey through woods deep and so very dark. A stunning debut

  • A dark, dazzling reimagining of 'Little Red Riding Hood' . . . Whitten lovingly weaves in elements from other fairy tales, including 'Beauty and the Beast' and 'Snow White', while crafting a story that is all her own. With clever, immersive prose and a subtle touch of horror, this is sure to enchant

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay