Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Constable

The Bangalore Detectives Club

Harini Nagendra

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery

The first in a charming, joyful cosy crime series set in 1920s Bangalore, featuring sari-wearing detective Kaveri and her husband Ramu. Exquisitely well-researched and painting a quietly scathing portrait of the British Raj, THE BANGALORE DETECTIVES CLUB is perfect for fans of the Baby Ganesh Agency series, and Alexander McCall Smith.

'The first in an effervescent new mystery series. . . a treat for historical mystery lovers looking for a new series to savor (or devour)' NEW YORK TIMES

'A gorgeous debut mystery with a charming and fearless sleuth . . . spellbinding' SUJATA MASSEY

'Told with real warmth and wit. . . A perfect read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Vaseem Khan' - ABIR MUKHERJEE

'A cosy mystery that warmly illuminates a time and place not often examined in fiction' VASEEM KHAN

'A beautifully painted picture of a woman's life in 1920s India' M W CRAVEN

'A delight' CATRIONA MCPHERSON

'The classic whodunnit with the added appeal of a female sleuth in Colonial India. . . fascinating' RHYS BOWEN

Murder and mayhem . . . monsoon season is coming.
_____________________________

Solving crimes isn't easy.

Add a jealous mother-in-law and having to wear a flowing sari into the mix, and you've got a problem.

When clever, headstrong Kaveri moves to Bangalore to marry doctor Ramu, she's resigned herself to a quiet life.

But that all changes the night of the party at the Century Club, where she escapes to the garden for some peace - and instead spots an uninvited guest in the shadows. Half an hour later, the party turns into a murder scene.

When a vulnerable woman is connected to the crime, Kaveri becomes determined to save her and launches a private investigation to find the killer, tracing his steps from an illustrious brothel to an Englishman's mansion. She soon finds that sleuthing in a sari isn't as hard as it seems when you have a talent for maths, a head for logic and a doctor for a husband.

And she's going to need them all as the case leads her deeper into a hotbed of danger, sedition and intrigue in Bangalore's darkest alleyways . . .

BOOK ONE IN THE BANGALORE DETECTIVES CLUB SERIES
*INCLUDES A BONUS CHAPTER OF DELICIOUS INDIAN RECIPES*
___________

If you love murder mystery series like Alexander McCall Smith's The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Vaseem Khan's Baby Ganesh Agency and Ovidia Yu's Crown Colony series, you won't want to miss THE BANGALORE DETECTIVES CLUB, Book One in a brand new series from Harini Nagendra

'Told with real warmth and wit. . . Harini Nagendra has created an intricate and fiendish mystery with a wonderful duo of amateur sleuths Kaveri and Ramu at its heart, and capturing the atmosphere and in

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Bangalore Detectives Club

  • I absolutely adored The Bangalore Detectives Club, a beautifully painted picture of a woman's life in 1920s India. Kaveri is a compelling character, headstrong, clever and dogged, and not at all deterred by the constraints of her position and gender. A fantastic book.

  • The Bangalore Detective Club is a gorgeous debut mystery that introduces Kaveri Murthy, a young wife living a conservative household who applies her prodigious intelligence to solve a murder that threatens to tear apart genteel 1920s colonial Bangalore. Kaveri is a charming and fearless sleuth, trooping from elite social clubs to humble districts to ensure the right culprit is charged with murder. Author Harini Nagendra brilliantly shares the landscape, social customs and history of South India in this spellbinding novel. I eagerly await the next Kaveri mystery.

  • From page one we plunge into the exuberant cacophony of 1920s Bangalore, right there beside Kaveri Murthy in her adopted city: the drawing-rooms and dirt lanes, the gardens and brothels, the temples and jails. Nagendra's depiction of an awkward but tender new marriage is a delight, and who could help cheering for Kaveri as she swims in her sari, studies in secret and commits herself to the pursuit of justice? More, please!

  • Harini Nagendra takes us to a wonderfully unfamiliar world in this delightful debut mystery. Colonial India is on the verge of gaining its independence from the British, and new bride Kaveri Murthy is also looking to gain her independence from the strict culture in which she was raised. You will love watching her blossom as she makes new friends and strives to save an innocent woman from a charge of murder. I couldn't put it down.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay