Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

The Last of Us

Harriet Cummings

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

82-year-old Nettie's memory is failing - so how can she be certain what they say about her is true? The second novel from the BAMB Reader Award shortlisted author, for fans of Anita Shreve and Maggie O'Farrell.

Can you love a man you barely remember?

Eighty-two-year-old Nettie still hears the occasional gossiping, but most have forgotten what she did.

Now, living alone in a run-down farmhouse, she surrounds herself with memories of her late husband and estranged daughter Catherine.

When Catherine's friend James appears out of the blue, Nettie is grateful for the company and keen to learn more about her daughter.

But soon James starts asking Nettie questions she doesn't want to answer; about some things she can't remember and others she's tried to forget.

And if Nettie can't remember clearly, how can she be certain what they say about her is true?

If you liked What She Lost by Susan Elliot Wright, The Stars are Fire by Anita Shreve, or The Hand The First Held Mine by Maggie O'Farrell, you'll love The Last of Us.

Read More Read Less

Harriet Cummings

Harriet Cummings' debut novel, We All Begin as Strangers, was shortlisted for the Books are my Bag Reader Award 2017. She is a freelance writer with a background in history of art and gender studies. As a script writer, she has had work performed at Edinburgh Fringe Festival, as well as independent venues around London.

A graduate of the prestigious Faber Academy creative writing course, Harriet now lives in Leamington Spa with her husband and springer spaniel.

Follow Harriet on Twitter @HarrietWriter or find out more at www.harrietcummingsauthor.com