Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Old Enemy

Henry Porter

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Espionage & spy thriller

Heart-stopping international spy thriller from 'An espionage master' (Charles Cumming) starring ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson for fans of Mick Herron, Lee Child and John le Carre

Ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson prefers to work privately these days. He has been tasked with guarding a young woman, Zoe Freemantle. He doesn't know who she is, or why she's important, but the money's good enough for him not to dig too deeply.

He shadows Zoe, first becoming intrigued with this striking woman as he observes her movements around London. He's just beginning to tire of a job he considers beneath him, when a watcher disguised as a homeless man attempts to abduct Zoe at knife point before his eyes. In the ensuing fracas, she escapes, while Samson wishes he'd asked more questions.

When his former colleague, Robert Harland, is assassinated, the news comes with the threat that Samson's own life - and that of others he holds dear - is on the line. Samson is sure he knows why there's a target on his back. What he doesn't know is who put it there - the Americans or the Russians?

Two things quickly become clear. One, it was a big mistake to lose Zoe Freemantle. And two, Robert Harland, ever the consummate spy, has one final, crucial part to play from beyond the grave.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Old Enemy

  • Porter is both his own man and the proud carrier of the flag first unfurled by John le Carre more than fifty years ago. British espionage fiction is the best in the world, and Porter is part of the reason why

  • Fast paced, uber-topical thriller... a roller-coaster ride of a story ... Porter deftly mixes well-structured storytelling with complex, engaging characters - Financial Times Best Thrillers of 2019 on White Hot Silence

  • Henry Porter is now one of the most accomplished practitioners of the modern thriller - Crime Time

  • Enigmatic, pacy and international - Strong Words magazine

Read More Read Less

Henry Porter

Henry Porter was a regular columnist for the Observer and now writes about European power and politics for The Hive website in the US. He has written several bestselling thrillers, including Brandenburg, which won the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger, A Spy's Life and Empire State, which were both nominated for the same award. He is also the author of the Paul Samson spy thrillers: Firefly, which won the 2019 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize, and White Hot Silence. Henry Porter is frequently described as the heir to John le Carre. He lives in London.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay