Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Battle Song: The 13th century historical adventure for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Ben Kane

Ian Ross

Write Review

Rated 0

Adventure, Historical adventure, War & combat fiction, Historical fiction, British & Irish history

'A very promising historical adventure' - THE TIMES

'A terrific novel' - HISTORIA MAGAZINE ***

'There is a fury in England that none shall suppress - and when it breaks forth it will shake the throne'

1264

Storm clouds are gathering as Simon de Montfort and the barons of the realm challenge the power of Henry III. The barons demand reform; the crown demands obedience. England is on the brink of civil war.

Adam de Norton, a young squire devoted to the virtues of chivalry, longs only to be knighted, and to win back his father's lands. Then a bloody hunting accident leaves him with a new master: the devilish Sir Robert de Dunstanville, who does not hesitate to use the blackest stratagems in pursuit of victory.

Following Robert overseas, Adam is introduced to the ruthless world of the tournament, where knights compete for glory and riches, and his new master's methods prove brutally effective.

But as England plunges into violence, Robert and Adam must choose a side in a battle that will decide the fate of the kingdom. Will they fight for the king, for de Montfort - or for themselves?

Searingly vivid and richly evocative, Battle Song is tale of friendship and chivalry, rivalry and rebellion, and the medieval world in all its colour and darkness.

***
Readers absolutely love BATTLE SONG:

'Another five star Ian Ross novel!' *****

'Truly is a masterclass in historical fiction' *****

'The best historical fiction I've read in years. Up there with Hilary Mantel!' *****

'A great well researched novel' *****

'Brilliantly researched, gorgeously plotted and blessed with a terrific cast of exquisitely drawn characters' *****

'Well written and engaging characters' *****

'Ian Ross writes with a class and style that leaves the reader or listener thirsting for more' *****

'Brilliantly researched, gorgeously plotted and blessed with a terrific cast of exquisitely drawn characters' *****

'A gripping tale of early England' *****

'A really good story, brought to life by an excellent narrator' *****

Read More Read Less

Ian Ross

Ian Ross was born in England, and studied painting before turning to writing fiction. After a year in Italy teaching English and exploring the ruins of empire reawakened his early love for history, he returned to the UK with a fascination for the period known as late antiquity. His six-novel 'Twilight of Empire' series, set in the late Roman world, was published in the UK and worldwide between 2015 and 2019. More recently, he has turned his attentions to the medieval period, and in particular the tumultuous era of mid 13th Century England. He has been researching and writing historical fiction for over a decade, and his interests combine an obsessive regard for accuracy and detail with a devotion to the craft of storytelling. He lives in Bath, and travels widely.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay