Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Two Roads

When I Ran Away

Ilona Bannister

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A rich, bighearted debut that takes us from working-class Staten Island in the wake of the September 11th attacks to moneyed London a decade later, revealing a story of loss, motherhood, and love found in the most impossible of places, perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman and Ann Napolitano.

As the Twin Towers collapse, Gigi Stanislawski flees her office building and escapes lower Manhattan on the Staten Island Ferry. Among the crying, ash-covered and shoeless passengers, Gigi, unbelievably, finds someone she recognizes - Harry Harrison, a British man and a regular at her favourite coffee shop. Gigi brings Harry to her parents' house where they watch the television replay the planes crashing for hours, and she waits for the phone call that will never come; the call from Frankie, her younger brother.

Ten years later, Gigi, now a single mother consumed with bills and unfulfilled ambitions, meets Harry, again by chance, and they fall deeply, headlong in love. But their move to London and their new baby - which Gigi hoped would finally release her from the past - leave her feeling isolated, raw and alone with her grief. As Gigi comes face to face with the anguish of her brother's death and her rage at the unspoken pain of motherhood, she must somehow find the light amid all the darkness.

Startlingly honest and shot through with unexpected humour, When I Ran Away is an unforgettable first novel about love - for our partners, our children, our mothers, and ourselves - pushed to its outer limits.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay