Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Special Girls: an addictive and heart-stopping crime thriller with a shocking twist

Isabelle Grey

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Crime & mystery

They are called the 'special girls'. How are they special and why were they chosen? Historical child sex abuse is linked to the murder of a young doctor in this gripping psychological thriller.

Sarah Hilary calls The Special Girls 'Compelling and compassionate'. Perfect for fans of BROADCHURCH and LINE OF DUTY

'A brave and harrowing novel' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH

'A penetrating analysis of Stockholm Syndrome' Guardian

They are called the 'special girls'. How are they special and why were they chosen?

A doctor is found beaten to death in woods close to a summer camp for young women with eating disorders. The camp is run by the charismatic Professor Chesham. DI Grace Fisher is called in, but is quickly pulled from the investigation - to head up a cold case inquiry involving Chesham himself.

Some years earlier, one of Chesham's patients made allegations that he sexually assaulted her.

As Grace uncovers the lies that led to the doctor's murder, she discovers the full extent of the damage done to the special girls - and the danger they are still in.

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Special Girls: an addictive and heart-stopping crime thriller with a shocking twist

  • Isabelle Grey has already distinguished herself . . . combines attention to detail with compassionate intelligence - Sunday Times on Shot Through the Heart

  • Full of well-handled forensics and the brooding atmosphere of the Essex coast . . . impressive - Mail on Sunday on Shot Through the Heart

  • An unusual police procedural . . . beautifully written, full of interesting insights, and atmospherically set - Literary Review on Shot Through the Heart

  • Grey's credentials as a television writer shine through . . . the inner workings of the Major Investigation Team are just as enthralling to read about as the serial killer they are hunting. Kept me on the edge of my seat right to the end - Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go, on Good Girls Don't Die

  • Assured, convincing and especially good on . . . the delicate - and often dodgy - nature of the relationship between the police and the press - Laura Wilson, Guardian on Good Girls Don't Die

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay