Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Trapeze
  • Trapeze
  • Trapeze
  • Trapeze

Keeping Mum

James Gould-Bourn

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A laugh-out-loud funny, emotionally charged and ultimately uplifting book about a man trying to reconnect with his son after they've both lost the woman they loved. For fans of Nick Hornby's ABOUT A BOY, SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR and THE BOY MADE OF BLOCKS.

For fans of Nick Hornby, Mike Gayle, Jojo Moyes and Tony Parsons' MAN AND BOY.

Danny Malooley's life is falling apart.

He's a single parent with an eleven-year-old son, Will, who hasn't spoken since the death of his mother in a car crash fourteen months ago. He's being pursued by a dodgy landlord for unpaid rent and, to make matters worse, he's just lost his job on a building site. Struggling to find work, and desperate for money, Danny decides to do what anyone in his position would do.

He becomes a dancing panda.

After seeing street performers in his local park raking it in, he puts all sense of pride aside and spends his last fiver on a vomit-ridden costume... only to discover that the humiliation of his terrible rhythm is worth it. Not because he's flush with cash (quite the opposite) but Will has finally spoken to him for the first time since his mother's death. The problem is Will is unaware that the panda is in fact his father, and Danny doesn't want to reveal his true identity in case Will stops talking to him. But Danny can't keep up the ruse forever.

A surprising, laugh-out-loud and uplifting story of a father and son reconnecting in the most unlikely of circumstances.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Keeping Mum

  • Keeping Mum is fast, fresh and very very funny. Moving effortlessly from comedy to poignancy, it's a story of joy, of connection and of the overwhelming resilience of the human spirit. Reading it made me want to dance. An absolute gem of a book.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay