Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion
  • Orion

Call Nurse Millie

Jean Fullerton

5 Reviews

Rated 0

Nurse Millie and Connie, Fiction, Second World War fiction, Sagas

An absorbing and richly detailed novel following the life and work of a young nurse in post-war East London - perfect for anyone who loved CALL THE MIDWIFE.

'A delightful, well researched story that really does depict nursing and the living conditions in the East End at the end of the war' Lesley Pearse

'Jean Fullerton's saga will delight her growing legion of fans' Dilly Court

Can she deliver the hope they need?


London is putting itself back together and twenty-five-year-old Millie is at the forefront of the effort as she tends to the East End community around her.

While she witnesses tragedy and brutality in her job, Millie also finds strength and kindness as her training begins to pay off, helping her to bring her patients back to health and welcome babies into the world. But it's not only the patients that need Millie as matters of the heart bring both tears and joy for the young nurses.

With grit and gumption, Millie and her friends do their best to find their way through first loves and heartbreaks, and balancing their duty of care with looking after each other. But when misfortune befalls her own family, it is the enduring spirit of the community that shows Millie that even the toughest of circumstances can be overcome.

A heartwarming and gritty saga set in post-War London, perfect for fans of Ellie Dean, Donna Douglas and Call the Midwife

Read More Read Less

Praise for Call Nurse Millie

  • A delightful, well researched story that really does depict nursing and the living conditions in the East End at the end of the war

  • I was truly gripped by Jean Fullerton's wonderful first novel

  • Jean Fullerton's second East End saga will delight her growing legion of fans

  • The winner of the HARRY BOWLING PRIZE shows much of the master's touch in this heartwarming East End story - EVENING TELEGRAPH

  • A fearless romantic adventure . . . Her powerful storytelling will stay with you for ever

Read More Read Less

Jean Fullerton

Jean Fullerton is the author of seven historical novels. She is a qualified District and Queen's nurse who has spent most of her working life in the East End of London, first as a Sister in charge of a team, and then as a District Nurse tutor. She is also a qualified teacher and spent twelve years lecturing on community nursing studies at a London university. She now writes full-time.

Find out more at www.jeanfullerton.com

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay