Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sceptre
  • Sceptre
  • Sceptre

Milk Teeth

Jessica Andrews

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), The self, ego, identity, personality, Family & relationships

From the author of the award-winning Saltwater comes a beautifully told love story set across England, France and Spain.

A girl grows up in the north of England amid scarcity, precarity and the toxic culture of heroin chic, believing that she needs to make herself smaller to claim presence in the world.

Years later, as a young woman with unattainable ideals, she meets someone who calls everything into question, and is forced to confront episodes from her past. Their relationship takes her from London to Barcelona and the precipice of a new life, full of sensuality. Yet she still feels an uneasiness. In the sticky Mediterranean heat, among tropical plants and secluded beaches, she must decide what form her adult life should take and learn how to feel deserving of love and care.

Milk Teeth is a novel about the joy and terror of taking risks and a search for bodily autonomy. Through Jessica Andrews' vivid and lyrical

Read More Read Less

Praise for Milk Teeth

  • A distinctive new voice for fans of 'Fleabag' or Sally Rooney. - Independent on Saltwater

  • Raw, intimate and authentic - The Sunday Times on Saltwater

  • Gorgeous . . . Andrews's writing is transportingly voluptuous, conjuring tastes and smells and sounds like her literary godmother, Edna O'Brien. - New York Times

  • Luminous - Observer

  • Lyrically poetic - Evening Standard

  • Disarmingly honest . . . I wish I had read this when I was 19. - Guardian

Read More Read Less

Jessica Andrews

Jessica Andrews grew up in Sunderland. She writes for the Guardian, the Independent, BBC Radio 4, Stylist and ELLE magazine, among others. Her debut novel, Saltwater won the Portico Prize in 2020. She co-runs The Grapevine, a magazine which aims to give a platform to under-represented writers and co-presents literary podcast Tender Buttons. She lives in Bristol and teaches Creative Writing at Roehampton University.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay