Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere
  • Sphere
  • Sphere

The Mitford Murders

Jessica Fellowes

Write Review

Rated 0

The Mitford Murders, Fiction, Crime & mystery, Historical mysteries

'True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a golden age mystery'
Daisy Goodwin

Lose yourself in the gripping first novel in a new series of Golden Age murder mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters.

It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle.

Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially sixteen-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.

But then a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves entangled in the crimes of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret . . .

Based on a real unsolved crime and written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one-bestselling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Jessie Burton and Agatha Christie. 'Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times.? Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders... so will you. Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one'
Susan Hill

'All the blissful escapism of a Sunday-night period drama in a book'
The Pool

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

30 seconds with Jessica Fellowes

Right
Left
loading...

30 seconds with Jessica Fellowes

Right

Jessica Fellowes

Author of the worldwide no.1 bestsellers The World of Downton Abbey and its follow-up, The Chronicles of Downton Abbey, Jessica is the niece of the hit series' creator, Julian Fellowes. Jessica started as a journalist at the Mail on Sunday, going on to be the Deputy Editor of Country Life magazine, before deciding to focus on books. She has also co-written The Devil You Know: Looking Out for the Psycho in Your Life, with forensic psychologist Kerry Daynes, and Build A Business From Your Kitchen Table, ghostwritten for the founders of notonthehighstreet.com, Sophie Cornish and Holly Tucker. Her first book was Mud & the City: Dos and Don'ts for Townies in the Country.

 

Jessica also writes for The Daily Telegraph, Sunday Times Style, The Lady, Psychologies and The Times. In demand as a speaker, Jessica talks at literary festivals from Scarborough to Cheltenham and appears on numerous radio and TV programmes from BBC Breakfast to BBC4's 'Never Mind the Full Stops' via Radio 5 Live. She was also the regular paper reviewer for Nick Ferrari's LBC Breakfast Show for two years.

 

Recently, Jessica has also been doing extensive talks in the USA, focusing on Downton Abbey and the historical context of the show.

 

Jessica's work for the Downton Abbey books means she has done in-depth research into the social history of the early 20th century, particularly the changes that women were experiencing then, as well as looking at the correlation between the great leaps in technology that were happening then and how similar it feels today.

 

Jessica was brought up in London, with long summer holidays in the wilds of Kerry, Ireland. She now lives in Oxfordshire and Notting Hill with her family.