Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Last to Disappear: a chilling and heart-pounding thriller full of surprise twists

Jo Spain

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense

The chilling thriller set in the frozen heart of Finland, from the bestselling author of The Perfect Lie. Perfect for fans of The Sanitorium and Lucy Foley.

'Dark and terrifying, utterly compelling' SARAH PEARSE

********

A luxury resort. Three missing women. One body.

When young London professional Alex Evans is informed that his sister's body has been pulled from an icy lake in Northern Lapland, he assumes his irresponsible sister accidentally drowned. He travels to the wealthy winter resort where Vicky worked as a tour-guide and meets Agatha Koskinen, the detective in charge. Agatha is a no-nonsense single mother of three who already thinks there's more to Vicky's case than meets the eye.

As the two form an unlikely alliance, Alex also begins to suspect the small town where his sister lived and died is harbouring secrets. It's not long before he learns that three other women have gone missing from the area in the past and that his sister may have left him a message.

On the surface, Koppe, Lapland is a winter wonderland. But in this remote, frozen place, death seems only ever a heartbeat away.

********

'A breathless, tense thriller' B. P. Walter

'Utterly ingenious' Liz Nugent

'Tense and atmospheric' Catherine Cooper

'Unforgettable!' Allie Reynolds

'Jo Spain never disappoints' Chris Whitaker

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Last to Disappear: a chilling and heart-pounding thriller full of surprise twists

  • I was absolutely blown away by this utterly ingenious book. So deftly plotted with entirely credible characters. Even though it's early in the year, I doubt I'll read a better crime novel in 2022. I absolutely loved it - Liz Nugent

  • Tense and atmospheric, set against a frozen landscape with reindeer, snowmobiles and interesting, varied and realistic characters. Beautifully written - loved it - Catherine Cooper

  • A superb crime thriller, brilliantly written, with a unique winter wonderland setting and a fascinating bunch of characters. The story offers terrifying glimpses of the darkness inside us. Unforgettable! - Allie Reynolds

  • A tense, breathless thriller with such an evocatively drawn setting, you feel like you're right there in the ice yourself, on the hunt for a killer. The Last to Disappear is absolutely stunning - B. P. Walter

  • What an amazing thriller! I loved everything about it. So vivid, atmospheric and chilling with a tight, unpredictable plot and a cast of characters that jumped off the page. A triumph! - Claire Douglas

  • This brilliant book captured me from the first page and didn't let go! Jo Spain's beautifully atmospheric prose transports you to the beautiful, frozen landscape of Finland, immersing you in a dark and terrifying mystery that kept me constantly guessing. Agatha Koskinen, the detective, is utterly compelling as a character and I relished following her throughout the twists and turns of the investigation. A fantastic, page-turning read. I absolutely loved it! - Sarah Pearse

  • Thrilling and twisty, with a plot as chilling as the setting. The Last to Disappear is further proof that Jo Spain never disappoints - Chris Whitaker

  • Whether you're heading off on holiday or just chilling in the garden, this gripping new thriller from Jo Spain should be on your to-read list - YOU Magazine

Read More Read Less

Jo Spain

JO SPAIN is a full-time writer and screenwriter. Her first novel, With Our Blessing, was a finalist in the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition and she's become a regular Top Ten Irish bestseller with her subsequent eleven novels. Jo co-writes and produces the internationally acclaimed Harry Wild TV series and is currently working on several TV productions, including the adaptation of her own Detective Tom Reynolds series. Jo and her family live in Dublin.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay