Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline
  • Headline

The Horns of the Buffalo

John Wilcox

1 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Historical fiction

The first novel in an acclaimed series of wartime adventures in the tradition of Bernard Cornwell and C.S. Forester

In 1879 the redcoats of the British Army are universally regarded as the finest fighting force in the world. Among them is Lieutenant Simon Fonthill, dispatched to South Africa with much to prove: for Colonel Covington, his former Commanding Officer, has slanderously branded him a coward.

In the Cape, tension is high. The Zulus, an independent nation of magnificently militant tribesmen, threaten the colonial government's vision of a united South Africa. And Simon has been chosen for a particularly dangerous mission: to travel deep into Zululand to discover the intentions of the king. Simon encounters violence and imprisonment before he is faced with his greatest challenge. Escaping from the massacre at the Battle of Isandlwana, he must warn the tiny garrison at Rorke's Drift of the threat posed by advancing Zulu impis. He has a chance to prove Covington a liar, but he may pay the ultimate price...

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Horns of the Buffalo

  • 'A swashbuckling tale of epic proportions, slashed through with adventure, bravery, and the utmost danger' Good Book Guide - Good Book Guide

Read More Read Less

John Wilcox

John Wilcox started out as a local reporter and journalist in Birmingham before spending many years in industry, which took him all round the world. He finally sold his company to devote himself to writing full-time. He lives in Salisbury.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay