Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orion
  • Orion

The Whispers of War

Julia Kelly

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Sagas

A moving story of the power of friendship, the cost of war and the strength of love. Perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls, A Woman of War and The Secret Orphan.

August, 1939.
Three young women watch in fear of another devastating war with Germany to be declared. A war that could force them to choose between friendship or country.

Determined to find her place in the Home Office's Air Raid Precautions Department, Nora is hopefully that they will be able to avoid another war. While Hazel's irrepressible optimism is disguising two closely guarded secrets form her friends. However, it is Marie, a German ex-pat, who has the most to fear. Because if war is declared what will happen to her and her family still in Germany?

When Germany invades Poland, tensions on the home front rise and Marie is labelled an enemy alien. Faced with a terrible choice between loyalty and patriotism, her friends must fight to keep Marie free at any cost.

The Whispers of War is a moving and unforgettable tale of the power and strength of friendship in a time of conflict. Perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, A Woman of War and The Secret Orphan.

Praise for Julia Kelly:

'A heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning' Washington Post

'Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls' Kirkus Review

'Kelly weaves an intricate, tender, and convincing tale of war and romance with skill and suspense' Publishers Weekly

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Whispers of War

  • Praise for The Light Over London:

  • Sweeping, stirring, and heartrending in all the best ways, this tale of one of WWII's courageous, colorful, and enigmatic Gunner Girls will take your breath away.

  • Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls.

  • It is a heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning. Julia Kelly weaves a tender romantic story around a girl who fights war showing how strong even tender, romantic women can be. With a bit of mystery in the story, even mystery-readers will like it. - Washington Post

Read More Read Less

Julia Kelly

Julia Kelly was born in 1969, studied English, Sociology and Journalism in Dublin, and escaped to London for the mad, bad years of life. She now lives in Bray, County Wicklow. This is her first novel.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay