Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Dear Lucy

Julie Sarkissian

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

The debut novel from a brilliant new voice in contemporary fiction. With its quirky, enchanting narrator, DEAR LUCY is perfect for fans of Room and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time.

Lucy is different - 'I don't have right words for things and I have no good behavior' - and she doesn't understand why her mother has sent her to live with the elderly Mister and Missus on their farm. Yet she knows she must never leave or else her mother won't be able to find her again.

But when something terrible happens to Samantha, her only friend on the farm, Lucy embarks on a dangerous journey, willing to risk everything for her friend.

Julie Sarkissian's enchanting and enthralling debut novel introduces an unforgettable new heroine of contemporary fiction whose original voice, exuberance and bravery linger long after the final page.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Dear Lucy

  • DEAR LUCY introduces a young writer with a most original voice and a tenderly eccentric vision. Julie Sarkissian has created a boldly lyrical, suspenseful, and mysterious fictional world in this striking debut novel. - Joyce Carol Oates

  • DEAR LUCY is about keeping promises against huge odds. This gorgeous novel does exactly that: the opening pages promise transcendent writing, remarkable characters, and a slowly unfolding mystery. But what happened and why is only part of what keeps you reading . . . Both whimsical and profound, DEAR LUCY wins your heart on the very first page and delivers it back, fuller and slightly cracked, on the last. - Charlotte Rogan, New York Times bestselling author of The Lifeboat

  • In DEAR LUCY, Julie Sarkissian has accomplished what many veteran novelists never achieve: a startlingly original work that is also profound and wise in the vagaries of the heart. What an amazing debut. - Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author of Serena and The Cove

  • Julie Sarkissian has written a rare and precious novel - moving, captivating, and expertly written in a voice unlike any other. DEAR LUCY is full of characters who are heartbreakingly human; full of hope, desperation, love and joy. You'll want to linger over the poetry of each and every sentence, but the foreboding mystery looming on the horizon will keep you turning the pages of this hauntingly beautiful book. - Haley Tanner, author of Vaclav & Lena

  • Hypnotic and mesmerizing. This is gothic noir that is full of heart and pathos. Lucy's lyric voice comes barreling off the page, and you will be utterly transfixed by the twists and turns of her journey. Sarkissian is a brilliant young writer who has written one of the most memorable debut novels in recent years. - Gabe Hudson, author of Dear Mr. President

  • Julie Sarkissian has written the most original and stunning debut novels I have read in a long time. DEAR LUCY is one of those rare delights that you cannot put down, and once you do, you can't forget. - Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of The Red Thread and The Knitting Circle

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Julie Sarkissian on DEAR LUCY

Right
Left
loading...

Julie Sarkissian on DEAR LUCY

Right

Julie Sarkissian

A native of Orange County, California, Julie Sarkissian attended Princeton University, where she won the Francis Leon Paige award for creative writing, and holds an MFA in fiction from the New School in New York. Her short fiction has appeared in Tin House Magazine and Quick Fictions. She currently lives in Brooklyn Heights, New York, with her fianc .

DEAR LUCY is Julie's debut novel.

Follow Julie on Twitter @SarkissianJulie

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay