Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Life I was Meant to Live: cosy up with this uplifting and heart-warming novel of second chances

Julien Sandrel

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Family & relationships

A heart-warming and inspiring novel about the strength of family bonds and the courage to reinvent your life, perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Joanna Cannon and Rachel Joyce.

'A charming and heart-warming read that will warm your cockles this winter' Heat

Thirty-nine-year-old Romane is a doctor and hypochondriac. Her usually uneventful life changes when one of her patients insists that she saw Romane coming out of a hospital in Marseille, looking very ill. But Romane is perfectly healthy and has never stepped foot in Marseille. So who did her patient see?

Romane sets off for the south of France, determined to uncover the mystery of her lookalike. Her investigation leads her to Juliette, a bookseller in Avignon. When the two women meet it soon becomes clear they are twins. But how is it possible that neither of them knew of each other's existence? What secrets have their families been keeping? On their search for the truth the two sisters embark on an astonishing journey filled with both pain and joy...

Sandrel's first novel, The Book of Wonders, was a global bestseller. It has been translated into 26 languages and will be adapted for the big screen. His second novel is a deeply moving and inspiring story about the quest for happiness and a second chance at life.

PRAISE FOR THE BOOK OF WONDERS

'A sweet and heartfelt read' Heat
'Will make you rethink your priorities in life' Sunday Post
'Heart-warming and tear-jerking' Irish Examiner

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Life I was Meant to Live: cosy up with this uplifting and heart-warming novel of second chances

  • A charming and heart-warming read that will warm your cockles this winter - Heat

  • An astonishing journey filled with both pain and joy. Uplifting - Bella

  • This book will make you rethink your priorities in life - Sunday post

  • A sweet and heartfelt read - Heat

  • A hope-against-hope, madcap race against time - Saga

  • Heartwarming and tearjerking - Irish Examiner

Read More Read Less

Julien Sandrel

Julien Sandrel was born in 1980 in the south of France, is married and has two children. His first novel, The Book of Wonders, was first published in France by Calmann-Levy in 2018. Rights to the novel have sold in twenty-six territories, it was an international bestseller and is currently being adapted for film. His second novel, The Life I Was Meant to Live, publishes November 2020.

Readers also viewed

Left
Right
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay