Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Wildfire
  • Wildfire
  • Wildfire

A Crane Among Wolves: A heart-pounding tale of romance and court politics for fans of historical K-dramas

June Hur

3 Reviews

Rated 0

Korea, c 1500 to c 1600, Fantasy, Historical romance

June Hur, bestselling author of The Red Palace, crafts a devastating and pulse-pounding tale that will feel all-too-relevant in today's world, based on a true story from Korean history.

A devastating and pulse-pounding tale that will feel all-too-relevant in today's world, based on a true story from Korean history.

Hope is dangerous. Love is deadly.

1506, Joseon. The people suffer under the cruel reign of the tyrant King Yeonsan, powerless to stop him from commandeering their land for his recreational use, banning and burning books, and kidnapping and horrifically abusing women and girls as his personal playthings.

Seventeen-year-old Iseul has lived a sheltered, privileged life despite the kingdom's turmoil. When her older sister, Suyeon, becomes the king's latest prey, Iseul leaves the relative safety of her village, traveling through forbidden territory to reach the capital in hopes of stealing her sister back. But she soon discovers the king's power is absolute, and to challenge his rule is to court certain death.

Prince Daehyun has lived his whole life in the terrifying shadow of his despicable half-brother, the king. Forced to watch King Yeonsan flaunt his predation through executions and rampant abuse of the common folk, Daehyun aches to find a way to dethrone his half-brother once and for all. When staging a coup, failure is fatal, and he'll need help to pull it off-but there's no way to know who he can trust.

When Iseul's and Daehyun's fates collide, their contempt for each other is transcended only by their mutual hate for the king. Armed with Iseul's family connections and Daehyun's royal access, they reluctantly join forces to launch the riskiest gamble the kingdom has ever seen:

Save her sister. Free the people. Destroy a tyrant.


'June Hur reigns supreme in making the past come alive.' CHLOE GONG

'Gripping and devastating.' ANN LIANG

'There were literally moments in this book where I forgot to breathe.' ELLEN OH

Read More Read Less

Praise for A Crane Among Wolves: A heart-pounding tale of romance and court politics for fans of historical K-dramas

  • Captivating mystery, political intrigue, and a perilously beautiful romance. A Crane Among Wolves excels at suspense even with true history's outline. June Hur reigns supreme in making the past come alive.

  • Gripping and devastating, June Hur's lush writing brings history to life in this intricately plotted tale of love, betrayal, and political intrigue, where hope ultimately shines through the darkness. A Crane Among Wolves drew me in from the very first page, and will no doubt become a favorite for readers as it did for me.

  • Brilliant! There were literally moments in this book where I forgot to breathe.

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay