Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Headline Review
  • Headline Review

The Unquiet Heart

Kaite Welsh

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Historical mysteries

A richly atmospheric and gripping medical mystery, the second installment in the thrilling Sarah Gilchrist series that began with THE WAGES OF SIN

Kaite Welsh's thrilling medical mystery THE UNQUIET HEART is the second in the gothic Sarah Gilchrist series, following a medical student turned detective in Victorian Edinburgh. For readers of Natasha Pulley's THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET or Laura Purcell's THE SILENT COMPANIONS

This powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery - Sunday Express


Sarah Gilchrist has no intention of marrying her dull fiance Miles, the man her family hope will restore her reputation and put an end to her dreams of becoming a doctor, but when he is arrested for a murder she is sure he didn't commit she finds herself his reluctant ally. Beneath the genteel fa ade of upper class Edinburgh lurks blackmail, adultery, poison and madness and Sarah must return to Edinburgh's slums, back alleys and asylums as she discovers the dark past about a family where no one is what they seem, even Miles himself. It also brings her back into the orbit of her mercurial professor, Gregory Merchiston - he sees Sarah as his protegee, but can he stave off his demons long enough to teach her the skills that will save her life?

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Unquiet Heart

  • PRAISE FOR THE WAGES OF SIN: This powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery - Sunday Express

  • An enthrallingly gothic murder mystery - The Herald

  • A gripping story, a great central character and full of riotous, beautifully drawn period detail

  • Welsh makes clever use of the conventions of the genre while throwing in a twist informed by modern sensibilities. Damp, sooty, moralistic, and sinning Edinburgh is convincingly evoked. A gritty detective story as unflinching as its heroine, rich in well-researched period detail - Kirkus Reviews

Read More Read Less

Kaite Welsh

KAITE WELSH is an Edinburgh-based journalist and author. Her writing has appeared in the Guardian, the Daily Telegraph and the New Statesman and she makes frequent appearances on BBC radio and television. Kaite has been shortlisted for both the Scottish New Writers Award and the Moniack Mhor Bridge Award, and most recently she is the author of The Wages of Sin.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay