Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

The Black Swan of Paris: The heart-breaking, gripping historical thriller for fans of Heather Morris

Karen Robards

7 Reviews

Rated 0

Thriller / suspense, Historical fiction

From the number one New York Times bestselling author comes an historical thriller that will take your breath away

A world at war. A beautiful young star. A mission no one expected.

'A truly outstanding novel, brilliantly written, that captured me and held me in its grip from page one. The Black Swan of Paris reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage'
Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Paris, 1944

Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, her position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve is shaken. She knows it won't be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary - including assassination.

But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected - and in time to save Lillian's life.

For fans of Danielle Steele's The Spy, Jane Thynne's Black Roses and Heather Morris' The Tattooist of Auschwitz, this exquisite novel illuminates three women's strength, courage and capacity for unconditional love.

PRAISE FOR THE BLACK SWAN OF PARIS
'Emotional and powerful'
Pam Jenoff, bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

'Beautifully written and completely absorbing. '
Noelle Salazar, bestselling author of The Flight Girls

'An extraordinarily suspenseful, emotional read'
Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say
Reader Reviews:

'Perfect! This novel was the first I've read by this author but I will definitely be reading more of her work. It was pacy, exciting, heart-breaking in places, with a truly believable romance sub-plot that was centred around characters I cared about.'

'A high octane read which is a real page turner and captures the heightened tension of the war perfectly. A brilliant read that I would recommend.'

'This is an excellent WWII historical fiction novel and it is for anyone that loves a good plot, suspense, and anyone
Read More Read Less

Praise for The Black Swan of Paris: The heart-breaking, gripping historical thriller for fans of Heather Morris

  • A truly outstanding novel, brilliantly written, that captured me and held me in its grip from page one. At its heart this story is about family love and the umbilical cords that stretch but never break. So much can be learnt from the telling of this story of what is truly important whether we live in a privileged, safe environment or in a theatre of conflict. The Black Swan of Paris reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage - The Tattooist of Auschwitz

  • Beautifully written and completely absorbing. Genevieve is a broken but determined heroine in disguise, fooling the terrifying enemies surrounding her as she is immersed in the ugly belly of the Nazi occupation. Tension, secrets, and loyalty drive this gorgeous book until the very last page and I was transfixed by each riveting moment - The Flight Girls

  • Emotional and powerful - The Lost Girls of Paris

  • An extraordinarily suspenseful, emotional read - The Things We Cannot Say

  • WWII history buffs will appreciate the accurate depictions and backdrop, while romantic-suspense lovers will eagerly follow Genevieve from the seashores of France to the hilltops of Germany - Booklist

  • Robards blends commendable attention to historical detail with intense realism and deep feeling. Historical fiction fans will be enthralled with this richly hewn novel and the romance and danger lurking around its every corner - Publishers Weekly

  • the latest page-turner from Karen Robards - Choice

Read More Read Less

Karen Robards

Karen Robards is the internationally bestselling author of over fifty novels, which have regularly appeared on the New York Times, USA Today and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists, among others. She is the mother of three boys and lives with her family in her hometown of Louisville, Kentucky.
You can find out more at www.karenrobards.com and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/AuthorKarenRobards or follow her on Twitter @TheKarenRobards.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay