Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Abacus
  • Abacus

Keep Walking Rhona Beech

Kate Tough

4 Reviews

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

A brilliantly witty, funny, poignant novel for fans of Maria Semple and Katherine Heiny.

'Incredibly insightful, funny and poignant' - Helen Sedgwick

I get up. I go to work. I spend the whole day waiting for the words on my screen to make sense. In the commuter broth of the carriage home, tears run in hot lines to my jaw and for a minute or so, I let them.

Nothing has turned out quite how Rhona Beech thought: her partner of nine years moved to another country, and she keeps applying for a new job every six months or so. And her lukewarm efforts to adjust to the changes in her life are thrown entirely up in the air when she gets some unwanted news.

Rhona's sardonic, funny, poignant attempts to find an answer to the questions she's facing are helped by Hilary (her oldest friend), Tania, Erin and Lizzie. KEEP WALKING, RHONA BEECH is a brilliantly observant satire on relationships, friendship and life.

Previously published as HEAD FOR THE EDGE, KEEP WALKING by Cargo Publishing.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Keep Walking Rhona Beech

  • One of my favourite novels of recent years. Incredibly insightful, funny and poignant. - Helen Sedgwick, author of The Comet Seekers and The Growing Season

  • Rhona Beech- sharp-eyed, laconic-tongued, tender-hearted - is your eccentric new best friend. She makes a terrific debut in this witty, chatty, lyrical novel - Kevin MacNeil

  • Kate Tough's dry wit and keen observations make this eye-catching debut about a defining moment in the life of thirty-something Rhona Beech both laugh-out-loud funny as well as poignant - Lesley Macdowell

  • A warm and ferociously witty story of the s*** life throws at us and how we survive it. Truth rings from every page of this assured and engrossing debut - Zoe Strachan

Read More Read Less

Kate Tough

Kate Tough has received Creative Scotland funding awards for fiction and poetry and held several literature residencies, including, Cove Park, Vermont Studio Center, Moniack Mhor and Outlandia. Her fiction and poetry has appeared widely in journals including The Texas Review, The Brooklyn Review and New Writing Scotland. Her poetry pamphlet, tilt-shift, was Runner Up in the Callum Macdonald Memorial Award, 2017 and her piece, 'People Made Glasgow', was selected as a Best Scottish Poem 2016. She's an invited participant in the Edwin Morgan Trust's International Translation Workshop, 2019. Kate has a Masters in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay