Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Sphere

The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

Lily Graham

Write Review

Rated 0

Historical fiction

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel

__________

'She touched the photograph in its gilt frame that was always on her desk, of a young, thin woman with very short hair and a baby in her arms. She had one last story to tell. Theirs. And it began in hell on earth.'

It is 1942 and Eva Adami has boarded a train to Auschwitz. Barely able to breathe due to the press of bodies and exhausted from standing up for two days, she can think only of her longed-for reunion with her husband Michal, who was sent there six months earlier.

But when Eva arrives at Auschwitz, there is no sign of Michal and the stark reality of the camp comes crashing down upon her. As she lies heartbroken and shivering on a thin mattress, her head shaved by rough hands, she hears a whisper. Her bunkmate, Sofie, is reaching out her hand . . .

As the days pass, the two women learn each other's hopes and dreams - Eva's is that she will find Michal alive in this terrible place, and Sofie's is that she will be reunited with her son Tomas, over the border in an orphanage in Austria. Sofie sees the chance to engineer one last meeting between Eva and Michal and knows she must take it even if means befriending the enemy.

But when Eva realises she is pregnant she fears she has endangered both their lives. The women promise to protect each other's children, should the worst occur. For they are determined to hold on to the last flower of hope in the shadows and degradation: their precious children, who they pray will live to tell their story when they no longer can.

__________

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel.

Readers are captivated by The Child of Auschwitz:

'This hauntingly heart-breaking story is one of pure, instinctual survival. It is a story of fierce friendships, unbreakable spirits, and the most powerful love possible. In the terror of their world fallen into darkness, these women found the smallest cracks where the light came in and stepped into to it with their lives. I was so spellbound by this captivating, riveting read that I could not put it down until I read every last word. Highly recommend The Child of Auschwitz as a must-read' Goodreads Reviewer, *****

'The Child of Auschwitz is a beautiful, emotional story of friends
Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay