Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus

The Summer Kitchen

Lisa Wingate

Write Review

Rated 0

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

From the million-copy bestselling author of Before We Were Yours comes an inspiring novel about one woman's effect on a struggling Dallas neighbourhood.

Sometimes hope springs up in unlikely places. Sandra Kaye Darden certainly never expects to find it in the little pink house left by her uncle Poppy. With her adopted son, Jake, missing thousands of miles away, and her family life disintegrating, Sandra feels as if her life is falling apart. A decaying house in a struggling Dallas neighbourhood just adds to her burden. But what begins for Sandra as a simple painting project to help sell the house for sale becomes a secret venture that starts to change everything

Cass Blue is having trouble keeping food on the table since she left her foster care. When Sandra Kaye shows up with lunch one day, Cass has no way of knowing that the meeting will lead to the creation of the Summer Kitchen, a place of refuge that could reunite a divided community.

In this moving story of second chances, two unlikely allies realize their ability to make a difference... and the power of their Summer Kitchen to nourish the soul.

Perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes and Santa Montefiore.

Read More Read Less

Lisa Wingate

Lisa Wingate is a former journalist, an inspirational speaker, and the bestselling author of more than twenty novels. Her work has won or been nominated for many awards, including the Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize, the Oklahoma Book Award, the Carol Award, the Christy Award, and the RT Reviewers' Choice Award. Wingate lives in the Ouachita Mountains of southwest Arkansas.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay