Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus Children's Books

Asking For It

Louise O'Neill

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

FROM THE WINNER OF THE SUNDAY INDEPENDENT NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR AWARD. Does it matter if you can't remember? A novel about betrayal and consent, truth and denial, in the age of the smartphone.

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way.

Until that night . . .

Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing.

And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.

BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Asking For It

  • Riveting and essential - New York Times

  • A brutal and shocking novel that strikes to the heart of the current debates around consent - Stylist

  • Establishes Louise O'Neill as a literary tour de force - Irish Independent

  • A difficult, confronting and vital read - Elle

  • Heartbreakingly accurate . . . handled with both sensitivity and unflinching honesty. A compelling and brave story that deserves to be read by all - Heat

  • Brilliant, harrowing - Observer

  • A stunning portrait of a girl, a family and a town in trouble - Irish Examiner

  • A brutal, unflinching look at the culture of slut-shaming and trial by social media. It broke my heart. - Red Magazine

Read More Read Less

Louise O'Neill

Louise O'Neill is the feminist powerhouse and outspoken voice for change whose novels Only Ever Yours and Asking for It helped to start important conversations about body image and consent. Asking for It won Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015 and stayed in the Irish Top Ten fiction chart for over a year. Only Ever Yours won Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards and the Bookseller YA Prize. Film/TV rights have been optioned on both books. Louise lives and works in West Cork, Ireland. She contributes regularly to Irish TV and radio, and has a weekly column in the Irish Examiner.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay