Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus
  • Quercus

The Night Visitor

Lucy Atkins

8 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Crime & mystery

How far would you go to save your reputation? The stunning new noir thriller from the author of the bestselling The Missing One and The Other Child. Perfect for fans of Into the Water and Lie With Me.

'WONDERFUL' - Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go
'INSIDIOUS' - Guardian
'BRILLIANT' - Fiona Barton, author of The Widow
'PROPULSIVE' - Metro
'INGENIOUS' - Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me
'SINISTER' - Red
'MENACING' - CL Taylor, author of The Lie
'FANTASTIC' - Sunday Mirror
'ELEGANT' - Joanna Cannon, author of The Trouble with Goats and Sheep
'GRIPPING' - The Literary Review
'UNRELENTING' - Mick Herron, author of Spook Street
'ENTHRALLING' - Heat
'FASCINATING' - Linda Green, author of When My Eyes Were Closed

***********

You have the perfect life . . . How far would you go to protect it?

The stunning new noir thriller from the author of the bestselling THE MISSING ONE and THE OTHER CHILD. Perfect for fans of INTO THE WATER, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR and LIE WITH ME. Professor Olivia Sweetman has worked hard to achieve the life she loves, with a high-flying career as a TV presenter and historian, three children and a talented husband. But as she stands before a crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into deceit and if the truth comes out, she will lose everything.

Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward sixty-year-old housekeeper of a Sussex manor who found the Victorian diary on which Olivia's book is based. She has now become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. And Vivian has secrets of her own.

As events move between London, Sussex and the idyllic South of France, the relationship between these two women grows more entangled and complex. Then a bizarre act of violence changes everything.

THE NIGHT VISITOR is a compelling exploration of ambition, morality and deception that asks the question: how far would you go to save your reputation?

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Night Visitor

  • The rich characterisation makes for an alarmingly plausible riches-to-rags tale - Sunday Times

  • This atmospheric, propulsive novel creeps up on you like footsteps in the dead of night... a tingling layer of gothic suspense - Metro

  • Fabulously dark - Woman & Home

  • A complex, creepy and insidious novel - The Guardian

  • Sinister, utterly compulsive...will keep your pulse racing until its dramatic denouement - Red Magazine

  • An absolute cracker...Fantastic! - Sunday Mirror

  • Enjoyably creepy - Sunday Express

  • Utterly gripping - The Literary Review

Read More Read Less

Discover more

Left
loading...

Walkactive with Joanna Hall

Right
Left
loading...

Walkactive with Joanna Hall

Right

Lucy Atkins

Dr Frances Goodhart is an NHS consultant clinical psychologist with twenty years' experience of working with individuals and families who are coping with life-threatening illnesses. She worked for several years as a Macmillan Consultant Clinical Psychologist in Oncology and Palliative Care. Lucy Atkins is a well known health journalist.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay