Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Orbit

The Liar's Knot: Rook and Rose, Book Two

M. A. Carrick

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fantasy

The Liar's Knot is the second book in the Rook and Rose trilogy, a commercial, character-driven fantasy adventure, in

which a con artist, a vigilante, and a crime lord must unite to save their city, which is slowly being corrupted by dark and dangerous magic. Perfect for readers of V. E. Schwab and Scott Lynch.

Trust is the thread that binds us . . . and the rope that hangs us.

In Nadezra, peace is as tenuous as a single thread. The ruthless House Indestor has been destroyed, but darkness still weaves through the city's filthy back alleys and jewel-bright gardens, seen by those who know where to look.

Derossi Vargo has always known. He has sacrificed more than anyone imagines to carve himself a position of power among the nobility, hiding a will of steel behind a velvet smile. He'll be damned if he lets anyone threaten what he's built.

Grey Serrado knows all too well. Bent under the yoke of too many burdens, he fights to protect the city's most vulnerable. Sooner or later, that fight will demand more than he can give.

And Ren, daughter of no clan, knows best of all. Caught in a knot of lies, torn between her heritage and her aristocratic masquerade, she relies on her gift for reading pattern to survive. And it shows her the web of corruption that traps her city.

But all three have yet to discover just how far that web stretches. And in the end, it will take more than knives to cut themselves free...

Read More Read Less

Praise for The Liar's Knot: Rook and Rose, Book Two

  • Utterly captivating. Carrick spins an exciting web of mystery, magic, and political treachery in a richly drawn and innovative world.

  • The Mask of Mirrors kept me up reading way past my bedtime. A web of intrigue, magic, and the art of the con, this novel will catch hold of your dreams and keep you from sleeping.

  • The Mask of Mirrors is exactly the fantasy adventure novel you're craving: an escape into a vast, enchanting world of danger, secret identities, and glittering prose.

  • The Mask of Mirrors ushers you into the fascinating city of Nade ra, replete with complex politics, intricate magic, and mysteries that readers will be racing to unravel. Wonderfully immersive--I was unable to put it down.

  • From the first page, I was utterly entranced by this glittering world filled with masked vigilantes, cunning conwomen, and dark magic. A sheer delight!

  • An intricate, compelling dream of a book that kept me turning pages, with a world and characters that felt deeply real and plenty of riveting twists and turns. I loved it!

Read More Read Less
This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay