Your cart

Close

Total AUD

Checkout

Imprint

  • Hodder Paperbacks
  • Hodder & Stoughton
  • Hodder & Stoughton

Should You Ask Me

Marianne Kavanagh

6 Reviews

Rated 0

Fiction, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Historical fiction

A story of love, history, war, murder, revenge and unlikely friendships - sweeping and compulsive, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.

'So much period atmosphere, you can practically hear the air-raid sirens.' Daily Mail

[An] ingenious page-turner' The Lady

'A delight' Guinevere Glasfurd

'I've come about the bodies. I know who they are.'

Mary is eighty-six years old, and she's tired of being quiet.

She has a story to tell, and she's only going to tell it once, so she won't be rushed.

Especially as it's not just a story, it's a confession.

Because Mary has a dark secret, buried decades before. And while William, the nice young constable, might think she just wants someone to talk to, everything she says forces him to confront his own difficult past.

A unique and poignant novel about passion, regret and heartbreak, set during one of the most tumultuous periods of modern British history.

Read More Read Less

Praise for Should You Ask Me

  • An intriguing and atmospheric novel, cleverly interweaving different times and crimes through an elderly and most unreliable narrator...absorbing

  • Vivid and brilliantly gripping. I was captivated from the first page.

  • Marianne Kavanagh's novel succeeds on so many levels. It's a thriller, a love story, a vivid portrait of wartime England, a cautionary tale, but above all, it's a fascinating study of suppressed guilt and the human need for absolution through confession. I absolutely loved it.

  • A genuinely mysterious thriller, with an intense sense of time and place - a historical novel of a very different sort

  • Charming, gleeful, a delight...brings Britain at war to vivid life

  • A moving Hardy-esque story of love, lies and loss thrown into sharp relief by its vivid WW2 setting. Indomitable Mary Holmes is a memorable character.

Read More Read Less

Marianne Kavanagh

Marianne Kavanagh is an author and journalist. She has worked on staff for Woman, Tatler, the Sunday Telegraph magazine and British Marie Claire, and has contributed features to a wide variety of newspapers, magazines and websites. She lives in London.

This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.Close cookie policy overlay